This two-volume work examines the efforts of our diverse nation to secure civil rights for all its people including African-Americans, Native-Americans, Chicanos, women, Asian-Americans, workers, gays and lesbians, children, seniors, and numerous others.

Alphabetical list and signed entries, terms, concepts, associations, and people important to an understanding of African American slavery in the United States. Includes maps, tables, chronology, brief bibliographies.

This encyclopedia retains its three-tiered approach, with short entries of less than a page, signed articles of two or three pages, and five- to seven-page essays that focus on more general topics.

Covers the general area of civil rights since the Emancipation Proclamation, and contains over 800 entries written by 157 experts in African American history. In addition to people, important laws, books, newspapers, journals, events, and landmark court cases are covered. All entries provide bibliographies and are cross-referenced.

Covers all aspects of the African American experience: biographies, events, legal cases, profession, sports, and places.
online version

A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day.

This essential volume provides an overview of and introduction to African American writers and literary periods from their beginnings through the 21st century.This compact encyclopedia, aimed at students, selects the most important authors, literary movements, and key topics for them to know. Entries cover the most influential and highly regarded African American writers, including novelists, playwrights, poets, and nonfiction writers. The book covers key periods of African American literature--such as the Harlem Renaissance, the Black Arts Movement, and the Civil Rights Era--and touches on the influence of the vernacular, including blues and hip hop. The volume provides historical context for critical viewpoints including feminism, social class, and racial politics. Entries are organized A to Z and provide biographies that focus on the contributions of key literary figures as well as overviews, background information, and definitions for key subjects.

The "Encyclopedia" is the only resource available that focuses exclusively on the expanding role of minorities in U.S. politics. Containing more than 2,000 entries, this two-volume set is divided into four distinct sections covering African Americans, Asian Americans, Latinos, and Native Americans. It makes a broad range of information readily accessible, including historical and contemporary biographies, descriptions of major events, and coverage of important legal decisions and organizations.

Covering everything from sports to art, religion, music, and entrepreneurship, this book documents the vast array of African American cultural expressions and discusses their impact on the culture of the United States.According to the latest census data, less than 13 percent of the U.S. population identifies as African American; African Americans are still very much a minority group. Yet African American cultural expression and strong influences from African American culture are common across mainstream American culture--in music, the arts, and entertainment; in education and religion; in sports; and in politics and business. African American Culture: An Encyclopedia of People, Traditions, and Customs covers virtually every aspect of African American cultural expression, addressing subject matter that ranges from how African culture was preserved during slavery hundreds of years ago to the richness and complexity of African American culture in the post-Obama era.The most comprehensive reference work on African American culture to date, the multivolume set covers such topics as black contributions to literature and the arts, music and entertainment, religion, and professional sports. It also provides coverage of less-commonly addressed subjects, such as African American fashion practices and beauty culture, the development of jazz music across different eras, and African American business.