This database provides access to magazines, journals, academic journals, reviews, and trade publications on topics in the arts.
Indexes hundreds of international art magazines, including English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as some published in other languages. Indexing is available for publications 1929+; abstracting for 1994+, and Full Text is often available for 1997+ but keyword searches do not explore the full texts – only the titles, subject headings, & etc.. Not covered by LionSearch.
Essays paired with bibliographies on many subjects including those related to contemporary and historical Asian art
Brief essays by experts on major topics in the history of art and architecture. Each essay selects and describes the important scholarship on the topic. Topics include eras, media, national styles, movements, and a selection of important artists. Items in the annotated bibliographies usually link to library holdings.
Encyclopedic information such as biographical articles, geographical articles, family articles and more from multiple art dictionaries.
Oxford Art Online combines several key encyclopedias and dictionaries important for the history of art and architecture. Together these provide the largest and most authoritative list of biographies of artists in English, as well as an excellent collection of scholarly encyclopedia articles on important topics in the visual arts. Included are Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and others.
Easily set up an account to download high resolution images to use for educational purposes.
The ARTstor Digital Library is an image database featuring works of art and other cultural heritage from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. The library of 2 million images is constantly growing. All images are accompanied by extensive metadata and are rights-cleared for specified educational uses.