Contact
Librarians
Jeff Knapp, Larry and Ellen Foster Communications Librarian
Start here...
If you want a refresher on what is meant by "scholarly" sources, check out the following guide created in cooperation with Professor John Gastil:
Communication Arts & Sciences: What are "scholarly" sources?
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowThis is the primary database for searching for scholarly and professional journal articles and book chapters in the fields of communication. If a link to the full-text of an article isn't provided, click the "Get It" link to get a copy.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowEnables you to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Using this link will activate the "GetIt @ Penn State" links so you can access Penn State's full text content. Because it includes all disciplines, you may need to adjust your search terms to make sure to you are reaching all the literature of Rhetoric (communication fields are very cross-disciplinary). Also note that Google's definition of "scholarly" can be a bit squishy.
- Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new windowThis is a database of journals published by Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare, who are publishers of many communication journals.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to journals published by SAGE.
Three Important Journals
- Philosophy & RhetoricPhilosophy and Rhetoric is dedicated to publication of high-quality articles involving the relationship between philosophy and rhetoric. It has a longstanding commitment to interdisciplinary scholarship and welcomes all theoretical and methodological perspectives that advance the journal's mission.
- RhetoricaPublished quarterly for the International Society for the History of Rhetoric, Rhetorica includes articles, book reviews, and bibliographies that examine the theory and practice of rhetoric in all periods and languages and their relationship with poetics, philosophy, religion, and law.
- Rhetoric & Public AffairsRhetoric & Public Affairs is an interdisciplinary journal devoted to the history, theory, and criticism of public discourse. Published quarterly, the journal explores the traditional arenas of rhetorical investigation including executive leadership, diplomacy, political campaigns, judicial and legislative deliberations, and public policy debate.