Library Guides: AFR 202N: Women, Gender, and Feminism in Africa: Reference Sources

Reference Sources

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
use your keywords to search encyclopedias on a wide range of subjects.
A collection of over 2000 reference resources.
Oxford African-American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
though the focus is on the African-American experience, you can focus your search within the Center's Africa and Diaspora Studies collections.
The African American Studies Center features the three-volume Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895, published by Oxford in 2006; the three-volume Black Women in America, Second Edition, edited by Darlene Clark Hine in 2005, the highly acclaimed five volume Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience. The Center also includes content from much-anticipated forthcoming print publications including the African American National Biography project (estimated at 8 volumes), edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr., scheduled for publication in 2008; and the Encyclopedia of African American Art and Architecture, due for publication 2007. In addition to these major reference works, AASC offers other key resources from Oxford's reference program, including the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature and selected articles from other reference works.

Encyclopedia of African Peoples by Diagram Group Staff
Publication Date: 2000
entries on some 1,000 ethnic groups from all of Africa which discuss each major group's history, language, social structure, religion, and cultural traditions.
Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara by John Middleton (Editor)
Publication Date: 1997
This 4-vol. set covers covers the peoples, cultures, and complex history of the Africa regions south of the Sahara. The articles describe such topics as archaeology family and kinship; government; politics and law; and African arts; cultures; and languages.
Encyclopedia of African History by Kevin Shillington (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004
Africa is a vast continent, home to many millions of people. Its history stretches back millennia and encompasses some of the most ancient civilizations in the world. Modern Africa boasts a rich cultural heritage, the legacy of many diverse influences from all around the world, reflecting the central role African plays in world history.
Historical Dictionary of Women in Sub-Saharan Africa by Kathleen E. Sheldon
Publication Date: 2005
includes entries on notable women in history, politics, religion, the arts, and other sectors; on events particularly associated with women; on women's organizations and publications; and on a range of topics that are important to women in general or that have a special importance for African women, including marriage, fertility, market women, goddesses, and much more.
Encyclopedia of women and gender : sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender by Judith Worell (Editor)
Publication Date: 2001
articles discuss the psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically-based differences and how those differences impact behavior.
Encyclopedia of women & Islamic cultures
Publication Date: 2003-2007
an essential reference work for students and researchers in the fields of gender studies, Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, as well as scholars of religion, history, politics, anthropology, geography and related disciplines.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide
Publication Date: 2003
Women are working internationally to build a world based on gender equality and justice. Their concerns are shaped by conditions in their own countries and regions, and also by conditions for women in other parts of the world. Readers will find that conceptions of women's issues vary by country as the set illuminates diverse perspectives and contemporary practices that shape the variations in equality and well-being among women. Judicious inclusion of historical processes helps frame the issues in a holistic perspective.
Men and Masculinities : a social, cultural, and historical encyclopedia by Michael S. Kimmel; Amy Aronson
Publication Date: 2003
The first encyclopedia to analyze, summarize, and explain the complexities of men's lives and the idea of modern manhood.
Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions
Publication Date: 2001
covers African and African-American religion in sub-Saharan Africa, North America, South America, and the Caribbean, and provides vital insights into its growing worldwide influence in Europe, Asia and the South Pacific. Entries encompass individuals, concepts, specific religions, religious movements and churches.