find early newsreels as well as current documentaries about U.S. historical events.
Over a thousand hours of archival and documentary films of historical interest. Includes selected content from the History Channel, PBS, the U.S. Government and other educational media sources. Also includes the entire series of newsreels from Universal. Transcripts are fully searchable and synchronized to the video. Video clips can be selected to create customized playlists that can be annotated, copied, and shared.
find information about African American contributions to film and film-making.
Black Studies in Video features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. The collection will eventually comprise 500 hours of content. Collection Highlights: Racial Justice and Diversity Films, SNCC Legacy Video Collection, and Documentaries created by WNET Television from the 60s and 70s.
streaming video showcasing different cultures throughout the world.
Alexander Street Anthropology brings together a wide range of streaming video, written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. Essential for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, the database will contain more than 1,800 documentary films and over 100,000 pages of full-text material at completion, including tens of thousands of pages of previously unpublished material from major archives.
online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world.
Streaming video of selected documentaries from PBS, the BBC, and other educational filmakers covering human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. Transcripts are fully searchable and synchronized to the video. Video clips can be selected to create customized playlists that can be annotated, copied, and shared.
find records for streaming video as well as DVDs in the Libraries' collections.
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.