Library Guides: AFR 110N : Introduction to Contemporary Africa: Country Information

General Resources

Nations Online Project
General county information with links to the relevant organizations within a country compiled by a non-profit organization.

Political Risk Yearbook This link opens in a new window
country's political and economic climate and risks, the Political Risk Yearbook is unique in that it provides forecasts on likely political and economic developments.
Country Reports on 106 countries. Gives political and economic risk analysis. Each Country Report focuses specifically on political and business information: finding developing markets, determining currency movements, preparing for capital investments, or making judgments about corporate security. Note: the tabs International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) and Political Risk Services (PRS) provide access to information regarding methodology, but do not provide access to the actual products. Access to the CountryData and the Political Risk Yearbook are available through the University Libraries A-Z list.
Political Handbook of the World Online Edition This link opens in a new window
Background information on the politics of countries and organizations around the world.

Country Profiles [BBC News]
provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.

African Development Bank Group Working Papers Series
African Development Bank Group
provides policy advice and technical assistance to support sustainable economic development and social progress in its regional member countries.
World Bank in Africa
The World Bank Group is one of the world’s largest sources of funding and knowledge for developing countries. Its five institutions share a commitment to reducing poverty, increasing shared prosperity, and promoting sustainable development.
Food & Agriculture Organization
a specialized agency of the United Nations that leads international efforts to defeat hunger.
UNESCO Africa
A United Nations Organization bring people and nations together through education, culture and science.
IMF Country Information [International Monetary Fund]
documents and statistics for International Monetary Fund member countries.
International Labor Organization: Africa
The only tripartite U.N. agency, since 1919 the ILO brings together governments, employers and workers of 187 Member States

The World Factbook [CIA]
Brief information and statistics about countries around the world.
Country Studies [Library of Congress]
Book-length works covering the history, politics, geography, and economy of individual countries. Some are dated and therefore most useful for getting an historical perspective.
Bureau of African Affairs [U.S. Department of State]
find information about the development and management of U.S. policies concerning Africa.

Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) This link opens in a new window
the religious composition, religious freedoms, demographics, constitutional clauses, survey findings and multiple social and political measures for hundreds of nations
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers.

AfroBarometer
an African-led, non-partisan survey research project that measures citizen attitudes on democracy and governance, the economy, civil society, and other topics.