Premier Bio-Medical Database for locating research articles. Essential for all healthcare providers. The go-to database for physicians
PubMed is a web interface that allows you to search MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's premier database of citations and abstracts for biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, chemistry, dentistry, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, health care planning and administration, history of medicine, hospital administration, microbiology, nutrition, nursing (International Nursing Index), physiology, pre-clinical sciences, public health, sports medicine, veterinary medicine and zoology. MEDLINE covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to 1950. Coverage is worldwide and updated weekly. Learn more about PubMed at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/pubmed.html. or Try the Tutorial at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html
The premier biology article index, plus Biological Abstracts/Reports, Reviews and Meetings, for patents, book chapters and meeting reports; emphasis on molecular biology, microbiology and genetics; includes powerful citation searching
Get a comprehensive view of life sciences research, including the most important discoveries, significant influences and relevant connections. The new BIOSIS Citation Index combines the unique BIOSIS content that is critical to life sciences research with powerful citation indexing only the Web of Science™ can provide. You can rely on comprehensive and relevant life sciences coverage that eliminates excess and delivers data that is accurate, meaningful and timely.
Students and instructors can manipulate and explore 3D models that are paired with reference and periodical content for further understanding.
Engaging, interactive models bring science to life, allowing students to better visualize and understand human anatomy, supporting university coursework. Students and instructors can manipulate and explore 3D models that are paired with reference and periodical content for further understanding.
Links to journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, and doctoral dissertations in chemistry (Chemical Abstracts) and related fields; also includes information on chemical substances, reactions, and chemical catalogs.
Primary database for international literature in psychology and related disciplines.
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
By the end of this module, you should be able to: Understand how PubMed translates basic searches, Use Filters to narrow your search, Understand and use Boolean operators, Use PubMed search tools and related databases to construct a search, and Build your own search using search field tags.
By the end of this module, you should be able to: Understand the layout of the search results screen, Move between pages of results, Change the display of the retrieved citations, Adjust the number of citations displayed on a page, Sort your results, E-mail, download and print selected citations, Save selected citations to the Clipboard and Collections, Create your Bibliography, and Set up filters for your results.
covers all science topics so best for interdisciplinary topics. Also can search for new articles which cite an older article by using the cited ref search function
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.
Medical/Health humanities refers to the application of humanities disciplines (arts, literature, languages, law, history, philosophy, religion, etc.) to discourse about, expression of, and/or the promotion of the dimensions of human health and well being.