Archival and documentary films and newsreels from The History Channel, PBS, California Newsreel, Universal, and other sources. Newsreel footage documents historical events from 1920-1967.
Over a thousand hours of archival and documentary films of historical interest. Includes selected content from the History Channel, PBS, the U.S. Government and other educational media sources. Also includes the entire series of newsreels from Universal. Transcripts are fully searchable and synchronized to the video. Video clips can be selected to create customized playlists that can be annotated, copied, and shared.
Award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the US. Includes the SNCC Legacy Video Collection with interviews of civil rights activists and documentaries created by WNET Television from 1960s and 1970s.
Black Studies in Video features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. The collection will eventually comprise 500 hours of content. Collection Highlights: Racial Justice and Diversity Films, SNCC Legacy Video Collection, and Documentaries created by WNET Television from the 60s and 70s.
1947-date. Searchable transcripts of the surviving broadcasts of the television news series. Includes interviews, debates, and commentary on the significant news of the day.
Meet the Press from Alexander Street Press opens up a wealth of information to libraries by making over 1,500 hours of footage—the full surviving broadcast run to date—available online in one cross-searchable interface. Since its television premiere in 1947, Meet the Press has cemented its position as an institution in broadcast journalism. For the first time ever, network television’s longest running program—with its thousands of interviews, panels, and debates—is available via streaming online video. Now, students and scholars have unprecedented access to this treasure trove of material, including many episodes not seen since their original broadcast.
Contains almost a half-million of Associated Press's current and historical images for the last 150 years.
An average of 800 state, regional, national and international photos are added daily to the AP Photo Archives. After a year, approximately 200 of the best daily photos are retained permanently. The Photo Archive's historical collection continues to grow, featuring images from significant news and features events of the 20th century. The earliest photograph available is a photograph of Abraham Lincoln taken in 1844. Permitted uses of these images include: 1. printing copies for educational and research use; 2. creating PowerPoint presentations, slides, and multimedia presentations when usage is confined to the licensed institution; 3. posting on a secure web site available only to authorized users; 4.e-mailing single images to an individual e-mail recipient.
Descriptive summaries of network television news programs and other news-related programming collected in its archive since August 5, 1968.
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. The collection holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. These special reports and periodic news broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaign coverage, and national and international events such as the Watergate hearings, the plight of American hostages in Iran, the Persian Gulf war, and the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001. Material in the archive can be identified for use through our TV-News Search Database. In addition, through its detailed content related to news events, this resource also serves as a unique reference tool for studying historical and political events. Users will have the ability to view online video from the Archive's collection of CNN material. if they have the RealOne media player from RealNetworks. This software can be obtained from the Real Networks website.
Vital Speeches of the Day available in Academic Search Complete.
Select the "Publications" link at the top of the screen to look for "Vital Speeches of the Day."
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.App information
Ripples of Hope brings together the most influential and important civil rights speeches from the entire range of American history-from the colonial period to the present. Gathered from the great speeches of the civil rights movement of African Americans, Asian Americans, gays, Hispanic Americans, and women, Ripples of Hope includes voices as diverse as Sister Souljah, Spark Matsui, and Harvey Milk, which, taken as a whole, constitute a unique chronicle of the modern civil rights movement.
The speechs of more than 130 prominent Americans are gathered in this compilation, representing the leaders and others from four major ethnic groups: African Americans, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, and Native North Americans.