Home - EGEE 120: Oil - International Evolution - Library Guides at Penn State University

General Resources

U.S. Energy Information Administration
From the U.S. Department of Energy, the EIA is an excellent source for information on petroleum and natural gas with information organized by both country and resource type. Excellent statistics and charts.
International Energy Agency
The IEA provides statistics by commodity and country. Graphs, maps and data are available for downloading.
Statistical Review of World Energy
From BP, provides current and historical information on prices, production and consumption of various types of energy, including oil. Slides are downloadable.
OPEC (Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries)
OPEC provides informative reports and data.

Oil & Gas Journal Database This link opens in a new window
All aspects of the industry are covered in this magazine archive, with special statistical reports.
The Oil & Gas Journal database contains the full text of OGJ from 1990 to date. In addition, the database includes topical surveys from 1995 onward related to US and worldwide oil & gas companies, construction, refining, and production of petroleum, natural gas, sulfur, and ethylene among others.
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Useful tool to locate information related to oil with an international perspective.
Offers current, international news and perspectives on a variety of topics and events throughout the world. It brings together an array of sources to explain the historical and contemporary conditions in a wide range of subject areas, including sociology, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women's studies, and human rights. Updated daily.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Contains reports providing overviews of major policy issues. The reports are designed to provide a full briefing on the topic from background, pros/cons, maps/charts, and links to relevant resources. One of the more recent reports concerns fracking; another concerns the future of the Gulf States.
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, archive, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews. CQ Global Researcher (formerly a stand alone DB) content was merged into CQ Researcher.
Adam Matthew Digital Penn State Portal This link opens in a new window
The Global Commodities sub-collection contains historic information about the history of oil production and major corporations such as Esso and BP. Maps and visualizations show change over time by country or region.
Adam Matthew publishes unique primary source collections from archives around the world. The collections cover a broad range of topics in the humanities and social sciences. The stated themes are Area Studies, Cultural Studies, Empire and Globalism, Ethnic Studies, Gender and Sexuality, History, Literature, Politics, Theatre, War and Conflict. Search across all of Penn State's collections via the AMexplorer search box, or browse the list of links.

The Oil & Gas Industry Report
The Business Reference Service of the Library of Congress produced this overview report in 2006. If has many useful links to the history and development of the industry.

LionSearch This link opens in a new window
an integrated search of books, e-books, research articles, newspaper articles, and other publications.

Penn State University Libraries

EGEE 120: Oil - International Evolution

Librarian

General Resources