Academic Search Complete allows you to search over 40 subject indexes at one time. It can be a useful interdisciplinary tool for finding criminal justice articles in resources that focus on: race relations, peace research, LGBT, women studies, business and a host of other fields.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Google Scholar is an amazing inter-disciplinary resource for criminal justice research. You are encourage to explore the advanced research options, citation alerts and Google's Metrics. It can be a powerful tool for known item searching particularly combined with the "Cited by" features.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.
SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines so it is useful across the social sciences, health sciences. Contains content from more than 640 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire Little Green Book, and Little Blue Book series
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100,000 pages of SAGE's renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. SAGE Research Methods contains content from more than 640 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire Little Green Book, and Little Blue Book series, two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles, and newly commissioned videos. Our access is to: SRM Core Update 2020-2025; SRM Cases (includes updates through 2025); SRM Cases 2.
Provides a more robust ranking of criminal justice journals
Journal performance metrics offer a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals by delivering quantifiable statistical information based on citation data, which helps determine a publication's impact and influence in the global research community. It includes journal and category data.
This is an excellent 3 page article written by Frederique Laubepin for the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research.
Subject Resources for Scholarly Research
Don't let the word "Abstract" discourage you from searching these resources. There are links to full-text to many of these articles or you can order them through inter-library loan. Keep in mind that abstracts can be a useful tool for reading and writing smart!
The journal articles described in this resource are from the premier journals in the field as well as from trade publications in the profession.
Provides abstracts of articles from the major journals in criminology and related disciplines, as well as books and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. For each document, an informative summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided. Topics include crime trends, prevention projects, corrections, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, offenders, victims, and sentencing.
A premier resource for interdisciplinary research on subjects impacting society and the single most important database in the Social Sciences. This resource can be useful for any number of topics including: family violence, gangs, violence, drug issues, schools, and media.
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
This resource is published by the US Department of Justice. It functions as a clearinghouse of information from government agencies at all levels of government. It is particularly useful for finding reports and scholarly research funded through tax dollars. It is equally a wealth of information on current policy topics and events.
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database contains summaries of more than 150,000 publications on criminal justice, including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime. Coverage: The time period covered is from the early 1970's to the present.
A great resource for scholarly articles that focus on victimization, behavior and crime, Primary database for international literature in psychology and related disciplines. It is published by the American Psychological Association and provides coverage from 1840 to the present.
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
An education resource sponsored by the US Department of Education. It is useful for topics such as: juvenile delinquency, school violence, rehabilitation programs, counseling.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the major database for education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department. of Education. The same database content is available on many platforms.
This research guide identifies resource that will provide you access to law reviews, scholarly articles and media sources.
Note: A law review journal is a journal typically published by students at a law school or a bar association. Often these are reviews of legal cases and a discussion of legal issues and are not considered empirical research. They will often be used by lawyers to discover relevant cases for their client's case.