Library Guides: HIST 571: Latin American Ethnohistory: Getting Started

Getting Started - Guides and Reference Sources

Latin American Studies - Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
A valuable guide to the literature in the field. Each essay includes recommended sources selected by experts.
The Oxford Bibliographies help researchers find reliable sources of information selected by experts in the subject. The Latin America module contains recommended sources from a vast range of disciplinary perspectives, including history, literature, sociology, economics, anthropology, and political science. Sources are linked to the library collections.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias. Latin American history
In-depth essays describing Latin America's peoples and experiences from pre-Columbian to contemporary times. Essays include extensive references to key works on the topic.

Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive histories with detailed bibliographies. Includes "Cambridge History of the Native peoples of the Americas" and "Cambridge History of Latin America" (11 volumes)
Comprehensive histories published by Cambridge University since 1960. These volumes cover a wide range of subjects including History, Philosophy, Religion, Economic history, History of Science, and the history of language and literature. You can search and browse across all subjects and volumes.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Profiles of world ethnographic groups. Each profile includes a "culture summary" with bibliography and selected source documents.
The Human Relations Area Files are designed to facilitate the cross-cultural study of human society, culture, and behavior. Two HRAF databases are available: Ethnography Collection and Archaeology Collection. They provide full-text access to source material on a wide variety of cultures around the world, as well as a cultural summary and bibliography for each culture covered.