It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
find books, videos, maps, music, microfilm titles, and other formats in the University Libraries' collections.
NOTE: you will not find articles from newspapers, magazines, or journals in The CAT.
The online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries.
Includes books, ebooks, videos, periodicals, maps, music, digitized works, microfilm titles, and other formats that are in the University Libraries' collections.
Note: you will not find articles from newspapers, magazines, or journals in the library catalog.
Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million titles. Updates: Hourly as new records are added or updated.
Over 200 titles focusing on local Pennsylvania history
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania provides portraits of people, places and events, putting the state’s local history into current context with the examination of demographic, social and cultural transformations. Included in this collection of 283 titles are tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans. Use this collection to support research in areas such as regional studies, social history, genealogy, economics and business.
An online collection of historical works, including Pennsylvania county histories, atlases, illustrated works, Civil War histories, writings by and about prominent Pennsylvanians, and publications produced by state and local historical agencies.
Millions of scanned books and journals from many academic libraries.
Sponsored by the libraries of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California, and other partners, HathiTrust is a repository of digitized materials in all disciplines. Its content--primarily scanned books and journals-- may be searched via authors, titles, subjects, and other data elements.
Use to find articles written about to United States and Canadian history
Search for articles on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from national, state and local historical journals are covered, as well as historical articles in major humanities and social science journals. Also includes citations to reviews, books, and dissertations. Keywords: African-American, Afro-American, Black, Hispanic, Latino, Colonial, Pennsylvania, Native Americans, women, gender, revolution, revolutionary war, civil war, Vietnam War, Cold War, World War I, World War II, Immigration, Immigrants, labor, agriculture, culture, society, politics, religion, economic, military, historiography.
Contains the full-text of recent scholarly journals, including many key history titles.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.
Contains the full-text including back issues of journal articles in various fields. Titles include the Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Pennsylvania History: A Journal of Mid-Atlantic Studies, Eighteenth Century Studies, andWilliam and Mary Quarterly.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
Many issues of key Pennsylvania history journals are freely available online through a cooperative digitization effort: