Engineering Librarian
Engineering Instruction Librarian
Overview
This guide will help you begin your search for information! You will find:
- Databases specifically helpful for science, technology, engineering, and health research
- Tips for being a better searcher
- Recommendations for collecting, organizing, annotating, and creating citations
The library is here to help! If you're not finding what you need, you can use the "Ask a Librarian" chat feature on the right side of this page, or send an email to your librarian.
Start Here: Databases
A list of databases to help you with your research. For additional information on how to search each database and use their unique search features be sure to look at the databases help, tools, search tips, and tutorials pages located on the front page of each database. These pages and videos will walk you through the different methods and terms used for basic searches, advanced searches, etc. in each database.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowUse to find citations to relevant articles in all areas of science and engineering.
- ProQuest (Multiple Databases) This link opens in a new windowIndexes 5,000+ magazines, journals, and newspapers on all subjects
- Compendex (Ei Village 2) This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary engineering journal articles and conference papers.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Links to journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, and doctoral dissertations in chemistry and related fields; also includes information on chemical substances, reactions, and chemical catalogs. When accessing SciFinder-n, users will need their Penn State access credentials as well as a separate SciFinder-n login and password. Visit the Databases page on the home page for more information. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
- Google ScholarGreat for finding sources if you already know what you're looking for. Also helpful for seeing where that source has been cited.
Getting Materials
The "I Want It" allows you to request items currently held by the University Libraries. You can select where you pick up physical material (e.g. Engineering Library desk) and you will be notified when they are available.
For materials not held by the University Libraries, or for those currently checked out to other users, you may also consider Interlibrary Loan:
- Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD)If you are still not finding what you need, submit a request for the title through ILLIAD, the Libraries' interlibrary loan service. First time users must register
- General Library ServicesVisit the general library services page for more information on circulation, course reserves, reserving a room, and more!