Library Guides: AFAM 250: Introduction to the Caribbean: Primary Source Collections

Primary Source Databases

World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean
A digital collection of primary documents including early monographs, pamphlets, letters, expedition records, journals, reports, maps, diaries, and descriptions of voyages.
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969
This collection consists of the Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean.
Age of Exploration
Primary documents on European maritime exploration. Includes some early voyages to Latin America.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Includes content on slavery in the Caribbean and early descriptions of Latin America.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007
Includes early accounts of slavery in the Americas and general accounts of the region.
Early English Books Online
Works published in England up to 1700 including some early accounts of Latin America.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Works printed in the British Isles and the Americas between 1701 and 1800.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A repository of digitized materials in all disciplines.

Latin American Newspapers, 1805-1922 (World Newspaper Archive) [Full page reproduction]
Historical newspapers from Latin America. Dates of coverage vary and some papers will be incomplete.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 (Series 1)
Includes newspapers from 22 countries primarily in English, but also in Spanish, French, and Danish.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Most content in Spanish with limited English content.
New York Times Historical (available from 1851) [full page reproduction]
Includes a digitized image of every backfile issue of The New York Times from cover to cover, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements.

Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)
dLOC is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean.
John Carter Brown Library
A collection of primary historical sources pertaining to North and South America from the time of its discovery by Europeans (ca. 1492) until the end of the colonial period (ca. 1825).
Latin American and Caribbean Digital Primary Resources (SALALM)
Links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean.
Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
Materials (books, newspapers, dissertations) that are not widely available.
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
Contains over 25,000 records pertaining to global newspapers and holding libraries.

PressReader [full page reproduction]
Recent newspapers, magazines, and other publications from all over the world.
NewsFinder
Newspapers from the University Libraries collections.

Ad*Access
Images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
The Advertising Archives
The Advertising Archives includes ads from the mid 19th Century to the present day. Images include British and American press adverts, covers, and artwork; French and Spanish magazine art; mail order catalogues, posters, postcards, menus, and other ephemera.
Marchand Archive Image Collection, University of California, Davis
More than 15,000 images with image details, searchable by theme, region, collection.
Digital Collections, University of Washington Libraries
Collections of photographs and other digital images.