Library Guides: P T 270W: Pathophysiology: Find Articles

Welcome to PT270 W: Pathophysiology

Welcome to Pathophysiology! You will be asked to do several case studies and also a final presentation. This guide can help you with these projects.

Top Picks for Physical Therapy

ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Journals This link opens in a new window
Health journal articles, good for finding evidence-based research
A full text database subset of CINAHL, including only 300 full-text journals that are licensed to ProQuest. Coverage is typically from 1996, with a few titles prior to that date.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health) This link opens in a new window
Health journal articles, good for finding evidence-based research
One of two major databases for nursing, providing references to over 1,800 nursing and allied health journal articles in addition to citations for book chapters, nursing dissertations, association publications, educational software, conference proceedings and selected full-text for state nursing journal articles, legal cases, patient education material, research instruments, standards of practice, critical paths, nurse practice acts, drugs, clinical innovations and government publications. References for alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and health sciences librarianship are also included. Coverage: 1982 - Present. Updates: Monthly.
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
Searches MEDLINE
PubMed is a web interface that allows you to search MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's premier database of citations and abstracts for biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, chemistry, dentistry, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, health care planning and administration, history of medicine, hospital administration, microbiology, nutrition, nursing (International Nursing Index), physiology, pre-clinical sciences, public health, sports medicine, veterinary medicine and zoology. MEDLINE covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to 1950. Coverage is worldwide and updated weekly. Learn more about PubMed at: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/about/. or Try the Tutorial at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html
ICE (International Clinical Educators) Learning Center This link opens in a new window
Videos on interventions and real life clinical settings
The ICE Video Library provides excellent visual resources to both faculty and students in physical and occupational therapy curriculum all videos are filmed with actual patients and therapists in real-life treatment settings including acute care, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU. Diagnoses include, musculoskeletal, nervous system, mental & behavioral disorders, respiratory, and pediatrics.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Evidence based medicine
Cochrane Library is composed of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. It includes peer reviewed systematic reviews and protocols prepared according to the Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions or Cochrane Handbook for Diagnostic Test Accuracy Reviews and editorials and supplements. The resource is updated often, with reviews and protocols being published when ready. Cochrane Library also includes the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and published monthly. The Cochrane Library offers Cochrane Clinical Answers, which provide a clinically-focused entry point to research from Cochrane Reviews. Also included are special collections of evidence-based guides related to diagnosing common medical conditions. The federated search feature allows Cochrane Library users to search systematic reviews from McMaster Health Forum's repositories: Health Systems Evidence and Social Systems Evidence.
CAB Abstracts (agriculture, nutrition and global health) This link opens in a new window
Global health information, with diseases
CAB Abstracts via CAB Direct covers all areas of agriculture including animal production and welfare (equine, dairy, cattle, poultry), horticulture, (fruits, nuts, vegetables ornamentals, flowers) crop science (grains, forages) and plant protection, applied economics and rural studies, animal nutrition, entomology, aquaculture and veterinary science, food science and nutrition, forestry and the management and conservation of natural resources, leisure and tourism, microbiology, parasitology, mycology, nematology, bacteriology and virology, biotechnology, and plant pathology and postharvest factors. CAB Direct also includes a Global Health section which covers international and public health, including bacterial, viral and prion diseases, mycology, parasitology, disease vectors, zoonotic diseases, nutrition and food safety, medicinal plants, toxicology and public and rural health.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Good for a general search if you aren't finding anything in the above databases
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is a clinical reference for use at the point-of-care
DynaMed is a clinical reference for use at the point-of-care. Contains clinically-organized summaries with recommendations, levels of evidence, and the guidelines behind each recommendation. CMEs available. App Information.

Researching Evidence Based Articles

Using the databases listed above, the best way for researching for both evidence based practices and randomized clinical trials on your topic.

To do this, please use the following options

LionSearch (Bento results):

Make sure to put the phrases you use in quotation marks
Example: "rotator cuff tears" and "physical therapy" and " evidence based practice"
Pick appropriate search box by clicking on "See all ---# of results" from the journals box
Skim through results

CINAHL ADVANCED SEARCH Instructions:

Scroll down to see all options
Make sure to check "Evidence-based practice"
Go back to the search boxes at the top and do your search, ex: "rotator cuff tears" and "physical therapy"

Proquest Nursing and Allied Health ADVANCED SEARCH Instructions

First search box, type in the injury, ex: "rotator cuff tears"
Second search box, type "evidence based practice"
Third search box, type "physical therapy"

Do we have that eJournal?

Physical Therapy Journals

Frequently used physical therapy journals

Penn State University Libraries

P T 270W: Pathophysiology

Reference and Instruction Librarian

Welcome to PT270 W: Pathophysiology

Top Picks for Physical Therapy

Researching Evidence Based Articles

Do we have that eJournal?

Physical Therapy Journals