Library Guides: STAT 200 Elementary Statistics (Bolton): Dataset examples

Comprehensive dataset portals

Google Cloud Public Datasets
High-demand public datasets all in the public domain.
GitHub Awesome Public Datasets
Well, these datasets are awesome! Facebook data scrapes, social twitter data, plus many public domain datasets, and datasets by topic.
Kaggle
Over 19,000 public datasets that can be downloaded.

Examples of datasets to download

FiveThirtyEight
Freely accessible data and code from Nielsen. Includes datasets on sports, politics, and other topics of current interest.
MERCURY-SIMREC Roman Datasets
Open access datasets about the Ancient Roman world that includes: coins, amphorae, stone quarries, shipwrecks, glass, pottery, and more.
Million Song Dataset
Freely-available collection of audio features and metadata for a million contemporary popular music tracks.
National Cancer Institute Genomic Data Commons
The GDC Data Portal is a robust data-driven platform that allows users to search and download cancer data for analysis.
NOAA Bering Climate Data
A current view of the Bering Sea ecosystem and climate, Includes datasets on: atmosphere, ocean, fishery, and biology, as well as climate indices and sea ice.
Penn State Data Commons
Provides a resource for data sharing, discovery, and archiving for the Penn State research and teaching community. Searchable by theme. Records allow the user to download the raw data.
Stanford Large Network Dataset Collection
Includes social networks, Twitter, Memetracker, and other datasets.
United States Census Bureau
Search on "datasets" to see what is available to view and download.
USDA Ag Data Commons
Agriculture datasets as well as data on forestry, camping, wildfires, bird habitat, precipitation, etc.

Library datasets

CountryData Online This link opens in a new window
CountryData offers political, economic, financial, and social data for over 140 countries, in most cases back to 1984. CountryData is also the only source for current and historical risk ratings developed from the International Country Risk Guide and Political Risk Services rating systems conducted by PRS Group. Note: the tabs International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) and Political Risk Services (PRS) provide access to information regarding methodology, but do not provide access to the actual products. Access to the CountryData and the Political Risk Yearbook are available through the University Libraries A-Z list.
UNdata This link opens in a new window
UNSTATS provides data on a wide range of social and economic data series from 30 specialized international intergovernmental agencies including POPIN, World Bank, IMF, UNESCO, UNICEF, and WHO. Data can be displayed in HTML or downloaded in Excel or CSV format.
World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates. Note: Even though Global Development Finance (GDF) is no longer listed in the WDI database name, all external debt and financial flows data continue to be included in WDI. The GDF publication has been renamed International Debt Statistics (IDS), and has its own separate database with historically archived data.