Iron, Steel, Metal and Machinery
Special Collections has a variety of primary source materials documenting the daily operations of the iron, steel, metal and machinery industries. Collections include both personal papers and business records, ranging from correspondence, scrapbooks, and photographs, to office files, memoranda, and reports.
Iron works with steam locomotives, Scotia, Pennsylvania, Scotia Ore Mines and Iron Works Collection. Historical Collections and Labor Archives, Special Collections Library, University Libraries, The Pennsylvania State University.
- Centre Furnace records, 1813-1880The collection consists of daybooks, ledgers, and time, pig iron account, ore, coal, and grist mill books.
- Curtin Ironworks Records [microfilm], 1810-1941 (bulk 1810-1921)The collection contains correspondence, production information, and accounts documenting business at Eagle Forge; Eagle Works; Eagle Rolling Mills; the Curtin Forge Company; and the Eagle Ironworks.
- Swigart-Shedd Family Collection on Pennsylvania Iron Furnaces, 1845-1991The collection contains research materials and papers, clippings, furnace site descriptions, photographs, and other documents.
- Mackintosh-Hemphill Company Records, 1868-1988The collection consists of clippings, booklets, collective bargaining agreements, letters, and court documents concerning the company, including its dissolution and impact on employees.
- American Steel and Wire Company, Donora Works, Records, 1919-1920The collection consists of training materials for foremen in science, steel industry technology, business and management through Employee Voluntary Instruction lectures.