Library Guides: PACFTB Literary and Cultural Heritage Maps Research: Business

Start Here

International Directory of Company Histories
ISBN: 9781558629028
Publication Date: 1988-present
Available at Penn State and some other Pennsylvania libraries. A massive collection of histories of major companies, including ones in Pennsylvania.
Encyclopedia of History of American Management by Morgen Witzel
ISBN: 9781843711315
Publication Date: 2005
Available at Penn State and some other Pennsylvania libraries. Containing more than 250 biographical entries, this work traces the development of management thinking and major business culture in North America.

Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Available at Penn State and some other Pennsylvania libraries. A vast database of corporate historical documents.
Mergent Archives is an online database with access to a collection of over 180,000 corporate and industry related documents, including Annual Reports, Corporate Manuals and Municipal Manuals.... This collection is primarily useful for historical research. The database also includes the Mergent Patents Archives which consists of 9.2 million utility, design, and plant patents going back to the mid 1800s. The database also includes the Country Report module, a module that consists of the following resources: DnB Country Risk Profile, DnB Country RiskLine Report, and Mergent Country Profile. Also includes D & B Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios.

ProQuest Historical Annual Reports
Not available at Penn State, but available at some other Pennsylvania university libraries. Helpful for providing historical information about American companies.
Pennsylvania Business Entity Search
Freely available. Provides address and initial filing date of companies registered to do business in Pennsylvania.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Available at Penn State and some other Pennsylvania libraries. A resource for finding scholarly articles, news, and other business information.
An essential article database for business research providing the full text for more than 2,000 periodicals, including about 1,000 scholarly journals. Covers virtually all disciplines in business and economics, including: accounting, economics, econometrics, finance, marketing, management, MIS, QMM and supply chain management.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Available at Penn State and some other Pennsylvania libraries. Similar to Business Source Premier, ABI provides scholarly articles and business news.
Search a complete database comprising full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.

Company Information Subject Guide
A list of Penn State library's resources for researching companies.