Using secondary sources is often the most efficient way to do legal research. They provide analysis by legal scholars and citations to the most important court cases relevant to the point(s) of law you are researching.
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books indexes legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, and bar association publications from 1918 to the present. Coverage also includes books and full-text of selected articles from the early 1990s to the present. App information
choose Periodicals-Law under Browse Collections by Category to find available types of law journals and periodicals included in HeinOnline.
Hein Online is a full-text research collection offering more than 900 legal journals; federal publications such as the Federal Register, U.S. treaties and agreements, U.S. Supreme Court opinions, federal legislative histories, presidential documents; a collection of legal classics; and Philip C. Jessup International Moot Court competition materials.
- expand the Search by Subject or Topic drop-down menu
- choose Law Reviews
- expand the Advanced Options drop-down menu to limit to area of law
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Covers many news sources for 20 years. Court cases and statutes from all federal and state jurisdictions are included. Most resources can be searched in full text.
subject index to selected international and comparative law periodicals.
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals provides access to legal literature worldwide and covers all forms of foreign law. Types of documents covered include journal articles, congress reports, essay collections, yearbooks, and book reviews. Coverage is 1985 to current.
LegalTrac provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
Gale Group Infotrac database for research in case law, government regulations, the practice of law, statutes, taxation and international law. Covers all major law reviews, and specialty law and bar association journals.