Recommended Books
Books and encyclopedias are great places to begin your research. Check out some of the titles below and borrow them from the PSU library system. Penn State Harrisburg has a large collection of juvenile literature, some of which discusses climate science, available on the 3rd floor of the Madlyn L. Hanes Library. Review the climate science juvenile literature collection at this link.
Looking for more resources? Try using LionSearch or Gale Virtual Reference Library to find additional items.
Teaching Climate Science in the Elementary Classroom by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781032493862Publication Date: 2024Discover new ways to help elementary students engage with and understand the world around them by incorporating climate-informed learning into the classroom. This book features foundational climate concepts, easily implementable activity plans, and inspiring examples of student engagement.
Teaching Climate Change in Primary Schools by Call Number: QC903.T4295 2022ISBN: 9780367631673Publication Date: 2022This important and timely book provides an overview of climate change and highlights the importance of including climate change education in primary schools. It emphasises the importance of cross-curricular pedagogical approaches with a focus on climate justice, providing in-depth assistance for teaching children aged 3-13 years. Informed by up to date research, the book helps teachers to remain faithful to climate change science whilst not overwhelming children. Accompanied by online resources, this book includes practical and easy to follow ideas and lesson plans that will help teachers to include climate change education in their classrooms in a holistic, cross-curricular manner.
Teaching Climate Change for Grades 6-12 by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781000402919Publication Date: 2021Looking to tackle climate change and climate science in your classroom? This timely and insightful book supports and enables secondary science teachers to develop effective curricula ready to meet the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) by grounding their instruction on the climate crisis. Nearly one-third of the secondary science standards relate to climate science, but teachers need design and implementation support to create empowering learning experiences centered around the climate crisis.
Climate Change Education by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781000819342Publication Date: 2022Climate change is complex and there is a need to educate our future generations so that they are able to deal with the plethora of information and views that they come into contact with in their lives. This book inquires into what it means to teach and learn about climate change. Now in its second edition, Chang further explores what education for climate change entails, discussing the concept of climate change education (CCE) itself, how it is taught in schools and how public education is being carried out. Featuring updated literature in a quickly advancing field, the book defines CCE for the global citizen and looks at pedagogies supporting CCE. It also identifies teachers as key stakeholders in climate change discourse, how to improve teacher readiness on the topic and how teacher professional development can support successful implementation of CCE.
Saving Us by Call Number: QC903.H3925 2021ISBN: 9781982143831Publication Date: 2021Called "one of the nation's most effective communicators on climate change" by The New York Times, Katharine Hayhoe knows how to navigate all sides of the conversation on our changing planet. A Canadian climate scientist living in Texas, she negotiates distrust of data, indifference to imminent threats, and resistance to proposed solutions with ease. Over the past fifteen years Hayhoe has found that the most important thing we can do to address climate change is talk about it-and she wants to teach you how. In Saving Us, Hayhoe argues that when it comes to changing hearts and minds, facts are only one part of the equation. We need to find shared values in order to connect our unique identities to collective action.
Communicating Climate Change by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781501730795Publication Date: 2018Environmental educators face a formidable challenge when they approach climate change due to the complexity of the science and of the political and cultural contexts in which people live. There is a clear consensus among climate scientists that climate change is already occurring as a result of human activities, but high levels of climate change awareness and growing levels of concern have not translated into meaningful action. Communicating Climate Change provides environmental educators with an understanding of how their audiences engage with climate change information as well as with concrete, empirically tested communication tools they can use to enhance their climate change program.
Teaching and Learning about Climate Change by Call Number: QC903.T428 2017ISBN: 9781138642614Publication Date: 2017Responding to the issues and challenges of teaching and learning about climate change from a science education-based perspective, this book is designed to serve as an aid for educators as they strive to incorporate the topic into their classes. The unique discussion of these issues is drawn from the perspectives of leading and international scholars in the field.
NSTA Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students K–12
Each year the National Science Teaching Association publishes a list of the Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students K-12. The books are wonderful resources to engage your students with topics in a variety of science disciplines.
Interested in borrowing one of the award winners? Visit the Madlyn L. Hanes Library's juvenile collection, located on the 3rd floor of the library, to browse our shelves! You can also visit the Catalog, click the "Advanced Search" link at the top right, scroll down to the bottom of the Advance Search page to find the "Location" field. Click the drop-down menu under Location, and select "Harrisburg - Juvenile Literature Collection - 3rd Floor". When you find an item that you are interested in, use the blue "I Want It" button to request it.
LionSearch
- LionSearch This link opens in a new windowan integrated search of books, e-books, research articles, newspaper articles, and other publications.
Books and Encyclopedias
These can be helpful for general information and background knowledge about your topic.
- Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new window
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window