The clearest, simplest way to learn relational database design. This is a hands-on, software-independent tutorial is even easier, while ensuring that design methodology is still relevant to the latest databases, applications, and best practices. Step by step, Database Design for Mere Mortals shows students how to design databases that are soundly structured, reliable, and flexible, even in modern web applications. Guides students through everything from database planning to defining tables, fields, keys, table relationships, business rules, and views. Students will learn practical ways to improve data integrity, how to avoid common mistakes, and when to break the rules.

Get a Jump Start on working with MySQL today! MySQL is an extremely popular open source relational database management system that that powers many of the applications on the Web. Discover why MySQL's speed, ease of use, and flexibility make it the database of choice for so many developers.

The MySQL Tutorial consists of a series of short, very concise chapters, each on a tightly targeted topic, with a task-oriented focus.Each chapter is written so it can be read in a single sitting and be easily digested. The main focus is on five key areas: installation and configuration, using MySQL, administering MySQL, optimizing MySQL, and MySQL's associated APIs.

Get a comprehensive overview on how to set up and design an effective database with MySQL. This thoroughly updated edition covers MySQL's latest version, including its most important aspects. Whether you're deploying an environment, troubleshooting an issue, or engaging in disaster recovery, this practical guide provides the insights and tools necessary to take full advantage of this powerful RDBMS.

NoSQL Starter is a great resource for someone starting with NoSQL and an indispensable guide for technology decision makers. It is assumed that you have a background in RDBMS modeling and SQL and have had exposure to at least one of the programming languages - Java or JavaScript. Friendly, practical tutorial with lots of hints and tips from several experienced Solr users and developers.

NoSQL for Mere Mortals is an easy, practical guide to succeeding with NoSQL in your environment. Students are guided step-by-step through choosing technologies, designing high-performance databases, and planning for long-term maintenance. The author introduces each type of NoSQL database, shows how to install and manage them, and demonstrates how to leverage their features while avoiding common mistakes that lead to poor performance and unmet requirements. He uses four popular NoSQL databases as reference models: MongoDB, a document database; Cassandra, a column family data store; Redis, a key-value database; and Neo4j, a graph database.