Global Ambassadors and International Students Office Program Resources

FSTA contains comprehensive coverage of all aspects of food science, food technology and food-related human and pet nutrition, including: raw materials and ingredients; manufacturing & distribution; food safety; product development & consumer issues; food biotechnology; functional and novel foods; food additives, nutrition and packaging. The database contains information from scientific journals, patents, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses, standards, legislation and more. Coverage: 1969 – Present.

Primary source materials documenting the evolution of food and drink within everyday life. Includes the cookbook collections from the University of California San Diego and Michigan State University, with a focus on Mexican, Latin American, Pacific Rim, Chinese early Californian, African and Asian cuisine.

AGRICOLA contains references for books, journal articles, book chapters, audiovisuals, and other agricultural resources. These resources encompass all aspects of agriculture such as animal and veterinary sciences including poultry and dairy, entomology, plant sciences such as horticulture, crop and soil science, and plant pathology, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, rural and community development, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, food science, agricultural engineering, and earth and environmental sciences. Also indexes publications from USDA, State Experiment Stations, and State Extension Services.

CAB Abstracts via CAB Direct covers all areas of agriculture including animal production and welfare (equine, dairy, cattle, poultry), horticulture, (fruits, nuts, vegetables ornamentals, flowers) crop science (grains, forages) and plant protection, applied economics and rural studies, animal nutrition, entomology, aquaculture and veterinary science, food science and nutrition, forestry and the management and conservation of natural resources, leisure and tourism, microbiology, parasitology, mycology, nematology, bacteriology and virology, biotechnology, and plant pathology and postharvest factors. CAB Direct also includes a Global Health section which covers international and public health, including bacterial, viral and prion diseases, mycology, parasitology, disease vectors, zoonotic diseases, nutrition and food safety, medicinal plants, toxicology and public and rural health.