online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries.
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.
This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. The Fifth Edition includes more coverage of: epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology; case study, PAR, visual and online methods in qualitative research; qualitative and quantitative data analysis software; and in quantitative methods more on power analysis to determine sample size, and more coverage of experimental and survey designs; and updated with the latest thinking and research in mixed methods. SHARE this Comparison of Research Approaches poster with your students to help them navigate the distinction between the three approaches to research.
Designed for students who will be writing research proposals, reports, theses, and dissertations. * The 15 chapters cover 191 guidelines for effective scientific writing. The guidelines are fully illustrated with easy-to-follow examples. * The guidelines describe the types of information that should be included, how this information should be expressed, and where various types of information should be placed within a research report. * End-of-chapter questions help students master the writing process.
Previous editions of this book have helped well over 100,000 students and professionals write effective proposals for dissertations and grants. Covering all aspects of the proposal process, from the most basic questions about form and style to the task of seeking funding, Proposals That Work offers clear advice backed up with excellent examples. Ináthe fifth edition, the authors haveáincluded a discussion of the effects of new technologies and the Internet on the proposal process, with URLs listed where appropriate. In addition, there are new sections covering alternative forms of proposals and dissertations and the role of academic rigor in research. As always, the authors have included a number of specimen proposals, two that are completely new to this edition, to help shed light on the important issues surrounding the writing of proposals. Clear, straightforward, and reader friendly, Proposals That Work is a must own for anyone considering writing a proposal for a thesis, a dissertation, or a grant.
Solve the big problems in health services delivery with Health Services Research Methods, 3rd Edition! This easy-to-follow text balances classic research methods with the newest approaches to improve service delivery and management in health care settings. To support you every step of the way, chapters cover the groundwork first, then follow with the ins and outs of research�from identifying issues and designing the research study to data sampling and statistical analysis. You�ll even discover how to apply research findings in ways that make health services organizations run more efficiently. Designed for your success, this text also includes research tools, plenty of examples and illustrations, skills-based practice problems and optional MindTap digital resources for learning on your own terms.
A straightforward, comprehensive, and approachable guide to research as practiced by social scientists, the Fourteenth Edition of this �gold-standard� book gives readers the tools they need to apply research concepts practically, as both a researcher and a consumer. The author emphasizes the process by showing readers how to design and construct projects, introducing the various observation modes in use today, and answering critical questions about research methods-such as how to conduct online surveys and analyze both qualitative and quantitative data.
The SAGE Handbook of Grounded Theory gives a comprehensive overview of the theory and practice of Grounded Theory, taking into account the many attempts to revise and refine Glaser and Strauss' original formulation and the debates that have followed. Editors Anthony Bryant and Kathy Charmaz bring together leading researchers and practitioners of the method from the US, the UK, Australia, and Europe to represent all the major standpoints within Grounded Theory, demonstrating the richness of the approach. The contributions cover a wide range of perspectives on the method, including its features and ramifications, its intricacies in use, its demands on the skills and capabilities of the researcher, and its position in the domain of research methods.
Lauded by thousands of readers for providing researchers with the first practical approach for doing systematic literature reviews, this popular book has been thoroughly updated and revised to include the latest information on the use of electronic technology and the Internet to conduct literature searches. This new edition of Synthesizing Research includes expanded discussion of retrieving and coding information from research documents to the production of coding sheets, as well as updated coverage of report writing that includes APA′s new guidelines and recent practices adopted by research syntheses.
Without ethnography, cross-cultural comparison would not be possible. But without cross-cultural comparison, we would know nothing of what may be universal or variable across human cultures, or why variation exists. Cross-Cultural Research Methods is an introductory teaching tool that shows students and potential researchers how to describe, compare, and analyze patterns that occur in different cultures, that is, how to form and test anthropological, sociological, psychological, medical, or political hypotheses about cultural variation.
Winner of the 2006 Giovanni Sartori Book Award, given by the American Political Science Association's Qualitative Methods Section. The use of case studies to build and test theories in political science and the other social sciences has increased in recent years. Many scholars have argued that the social sciences rely too heavily on quantitative research and formal models and have attempted to develop and refine rigorous methods for using case studies. This text presents a comprehensive analysis of research methods using case studies and examines the place of case studies in social science methodology. It argues that case studies, statistical methods, and formal models are complementary rather than competitive. The book explains how to design case study research that will produce results useful to policymakers and emphasizes the importance of developing policy-relevant theories. It offers three major contributions to case study methodology: an emphasis on the importance of within-case analysis, a detailed discussion of process tracing, and development of the concept of typological theories. Case Studies and Theory Development in the Social Scienceswill be particularly useful to graduate students and scholars in social science methodology and the philosophy of science, as well as to those designing new research projects, and will contribute greatly to the broader debate about scientific methods.
We consider Grounded Theory one of the most important methodological treatises which modern American sociology has produced. It should become required reading for all graduate students of sociology. Helmut R. Wagner, Social Forces The Discovery of Grounded Theory is directed toward improving social scientists' capacity for generating theory that will be relevant to their research."
This text examines the fundamentals of solving a scientific research problem, focusing on the relationship between the problem and the research design. This edition includes new information about computer statistical software, multivariate statistics, research ethics, and writing research reports in APA style. This book is ideal for graduate students in that it covers statistics, research methodology, and measurement all in one volume. This is a book that graduate students will keep as a reference throughout their careers.
From daunting to doable in six steps The process of literature search and composing a formal literature review can be intimidating. But masters and doctoral candidates in Education and related fields have found academic argumentation to be seamlessly intuitive with the six-step process pioneered by this book. This updated third edition features a wealth of all-new content including: A flowchart that graphically illustrates Machi and McEvoy's process. Reflective Oversight boxes in each chapter, prompting readers to direct metacognitive activities. Links to online guides and resources. Expanded examples illustrating theoretical concepts.
This popular text provides useful and pragmatic guidance for developing and successfully defending proposals for qualitative inquiry. The Fifth Edition addresses the advances and challenges presented by developments and new applications while providing direct guidance. Focusing on the proposal stage of research, this edition allows the reader to have a clear plan for data analysis and for the challenging varieties of final reports of qualitative inquiries. The new edition includes expanded coverage of ethics, analysis processes, and approaches, and is full of updated vignettes that illustrate the methodological challenges that face today′s qualitative researcher. This edition also includes discussions about distance-based research (such as email interviews and online discussion groups), the implications of postmodern turns, integrating archival material in qualitative research, and creative ways of presenting the research. This text is an invaluable resource to teachers and students of research methods across disciplines and is a must for the library of those using qualitative approaches.
The Second Edition of this best-selling text offers students and first-time researchers invaluable guidance on the practice of qualitative social research. Throughout the author addresses the key issues which need to be identified and resolved in the qualitative research process, and through which researchers develop essential skills in qualitative research. The book highlights the "difficult questions" that researchers should get into the habit of asking themselves in the course of doing qualitative research, and outlines the implications of the different ways of responding to these questions. The new edition of Qualitative Researching has been fully revised and updated with expanded coverage of observation, documents, visual data, CAQDAS, and writing qualitative research. The text bridges the gap between "cookbook" approaches to qualitative research and abstract methodogical approaches. Helping the reader to move comfortably between principle and practice, this text has proved to be an invaluable introduction to qualitative research, and a useful aid to accomplished qualitative research practice across the social sciences. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for classPerusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Since the first edition of On Being a Scientist was published in 1988, more than 200,000 copies have been distributed to graduate and undergraduate science students. Now this well-received booklet has been updated to incorporate the important developments in science ethics of the past 6 years and includes updated examples and material from the landmark volume Responsible Science (National Academy Press, 1992). The revision reflects feedback from readers of the original version. In response to graduate students' requests, it offers several case studies in science ethics that pose provocative and realistic scenarios of ethical dilemmas and issues. On Being a Scientist presents penetrating discussions of the social and historical context of science, the allocation of credit for discovery, the scientist's role in society, the issues revolving around publication, and many other aspects of scientific work. The booklet explores the inevitable conflicts that arise when the black and white areas of science meet the gray areas of human values and biases. students entering scientific research, their instructors and mentors, and anyone interested in the role of scientific discovery in society.
This work offers balanced coverage of both the qualitative and quantative approaches to social research. New features for the second edition include a new glossary based on reviewer and student suggestions, and an expanded chapter on library research and writing reports.
Advances in the social sciences have emerged through a variety of research methods: field-based research, laboratory and field experiments, and agent-based models. However, which research method or approach is best suited to a particular inquiry is frequently debated and discussed. Working Together examines how different methods have promoted various theoretical developments related to collective action and the commons, and demonstrates the importance of cross-fertilization involving multimethod research across traditional boundaries. The authors look at why cross-fertilization is difficult to achieve, and they show ways to overcome these challenges through collaboration. The authors provide numerous examples of collaborative, multimethod research related to collective action and the commons. They examine the pros and cons of case studies, meta-analyses, large-N field research, experiments and modeling, and empirically grounded agent-based models, and they consider how these methods contribute to research on collective action for the management of natural resources. Using their findings, the authors outline a revised theory of collective action that includes three elements: individual decision making, microsituational conditions, and features of the broader social-ecological context. Acknowledging the academic incentives that influence and constrain how research is conducted, Working Together reworks the theory of collective action and offers practical solutions for researchers and students across a spectrum of disciplines.
In addition to laying the moral foundations of research with human participants, the examples and analyses in this work help to guide researchers in identifying conflicts of interest and solving ethical dilemmas, planning research, recruiting participants and maintaining trust.
This book presents a disciplined, qualitative exploration of case study methods by drawing from naturalistic, holistic, ethnographic, phenomenologic and biographic research methods. Robert E Stake uses and annotates an actual case study to answer such questions as: How is the case selected? How do you select the case which is most likely to lead to maximizing what can be learned? How can what is learned from one case be applied to another? How can what is learned from a case be interpreted? In addition, the book covers: the differences between quantitative and qualitative approaches; data-gathering including document review; coding, sorting and pattern analysis; the roles of the researcher; triangulation; and reporting.
This valuable guide provides detailed instructions for each step of the survey process, from choosing the right topic to designing the survey, selecting and working with the respondents, and making sense of all the data.
Drawing on Weiss's thirty years' experience interviewing and teaching others, Learning from Strangers is the definitive work on qualitative research interviewing. The author of many successful books, Dr. Weiss provides examples and running commentary on how each interaction either inhibits or promotes trust and alliance. Used as a reference, handbook, or text, this book is appropriate for novices and professionals.
This bestselling book focuses on case study design and analysis as a distinct research tool with wide applicability. It has now been carefully revised, updated and expanded to include: a discussion of the debate in evaluation between qualitative and quantitative research; more on the role of theory in doing good case studies; more extensive discussion of triangulation as a rationale for multiple sources of evidence; and an examination of program logic models as another analytic option. In addition, the text contains many topical examples, including ones dealing with international trade and the world economy. Despite these revisions, this Second Edition retains virtually all the original text, making it an even more comprehensive introduction to the field.