Library Guides: Ethnography: Home

Find Articles

Match your research topic with specific and/or general subject/discipline to locate articles in databases.

Subject Guides
Find the best resources by your major or discipline

LionSearch This link opens in a new window
an integrated search of books, e-books, research articles, newspaper articles, and other publications.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
scholarly literature via Google
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.

Find Keywords

Identify keywords, synonyms and related terms via encyclopedias and other reference works (reference materials like encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc. provide useful descriptions, overviews, and lists of references/cited works)

The below encyclopedias may be helpful in developing your keywords!

Encyclopedia of Sociology by Edgar F. Borgatta; Rhonda J. V. Montgomery
Publication Date: 2003
Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Publication Date: 2004
The standard reference work in the field
Encyclopaedia of Islam - Three by Gudrun Krämer (Editor); Denis Matringe (Editor); John Nawas (Editor); Everett K. Rowson (Editor); Gudrun Krämer (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010
Comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.
Encyclopedia of Education by James W. Guthrie
Publication Date: 2004
a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world
Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America by Gary S. Cross (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004
A comprehensive survey of activities from the Colonial era to the present.
Print Only

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Includes a wide variety of encyclopedias on all topics.
A collection of over 2000 reference resources.

Find Books

Find general books in the libraries Catalog relevant to your topic, and check reference list/cited works at the end of a book or book chapters) for more sources.

Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new window
books at Penn State Libraries
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.

Selected print and online resources to help you with your literature review

Books

Integrating Research by Harris Cooper
Publication Date: 1989
Techniques of researching, reviewing and analyzing research literature.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods by Michael S. Lewis-Beck; Alan Bryman; Tim F. (Futing) Liao
Publication Date: 2003
"Authoritative essays on virtually all social science methods topics, both quantitative and qualitative"

Penn State University Websites:

Penn State Electronic Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
access to Penn State electronic theses and dissertations.
Provides access to Penn State electronic theses and dissertations.

Eberly Family Special Collections Library
Primary resources at Penn State
International/Multicultural/Religious/Spiritual
Student organizations at Penn State
News and Newspapers Sources
Newspapers and other news sources can provide context for the information you are gathering. This Libraries' guide will help you find news sources in the Libraries and online.

Other Websites:

Learn how to write a review of literature
from University of Wisconsin - Madison
How to write a literature review
from UC Santa Cruz

Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides
Information for APA, MLA, and other citation styles as well as general writing help.