Business & Economics Librarian
Lauren Reiter
she/her
Contact:
309B Paterno Library
Email, call 814-865-4414, or book an appointment with me
Business & Entrepreneurship Librarian
Sara Hess
she/her/Ms.
Contact:
Schedule an online or in person research consultation with me at https://calendly.com/sfh5542/
Top Business Literature Databases
Start with ABI/Inform and Business Source Premier, the top 2 business literature databases. While these two have some overlapping content, searching in both will ensure the most comprehensive results.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowA complete database comprising full-text business periodicals and news sources. Publications in this database include Wall Street Journal and MIT Sloan Management Review, among thousands of others.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowAn essential article database for business research providing the full text for more than 2,000 periodicals, including Harvard Business Review, Academy of Management Review, and Academy of Management Journal.
Follow up your searches in these two databases with exploration of other resources.
- Management - Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowOxford Bibliographies in Management provides reliable, up-to-date, and authoritative guides to the most relevant literature in the field
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.
Direct Links to Key Journals
- Academy of Management Journalvia Business Source Premier
- Academy of Management Reviewvia Business Source Premier
- Harvard Business Reviewvia Business Source Premier
NOTE: HBR articles are restricted by the publisher. You may individually access and read articles, but they cannot be shared. The Top 500 articles are READ ONLY and cannot be printed or saved. - MIT Sloan Management Reviewvia ABI/INFORM
Looking for another journal? Here are some additional resources for finding a specific publication:
- Key Management JournalsDirect links to top management journals on our Management research guide
Tools and Resources for Navigating Scholarly Literature
Strategies for reading academic literature
Writing introductions
- Editors’ comments: Sense and structure—The core building blocks of an AMR articleLange, D., & Pfarrer, M. D. (2017). Editors’ comments: Sense and structure—The core building blocks of an AMR article. The Academy of Management Review, 42(3), 407–416
- Designing Scholarly Introductions as Jobs to Be DoneSimsek, Z., & Li, S. (2022). Designing Scholarly Introductions as Jobs to Be Done. Journal of Management, 48(4), 807–820.
- Publishing in Amj-Part 3: Setting the HookGrant, A. M., & Pollock, T. G. (2011). Publishing in Amj-Part 3: Setting the Hook. Academy of Management Journal, 54(5), 873–879.
Writing reviews
- Ten Simple Rules for Writing a Literature ReviewPautasso, Marco, “Ten Simple Rules for Writing a Literature Review,” PLOS Computational Biology (July 2103); 1-4.
- The Literature Review: A Few Tips on Conducting ItA guide written by Dena Taylor, University of Toronto Health Sciences Writing Centre
- The Why and How of the Integrative ReviewCronin, M. A., & George, E. (2023). The Why and How of the Integrative Review. Organizational Research Methods, 26(1), 168–192.