Research Coach
Vegetable Botany & History
- Family Tree of Foods | LifesumBeautiful infographics depicting vegetable plant families and lists of related vegetables.
- Plant Rotation in the Garden Based on Plant Families | Penn State ExtensionIncludes a table of botanical families and their associated vegetable crops.
- The Origin of Cultivated Fruits and Vegetables | Northern Arizona UniversityA world map and table identifying the global origins of vegetables and other food plants.
[ebook] Vegetables: a biographyISBN: 9780226059969Publication Date: 2012In capsule biographies of eleven different vegetables--artichokes, beans, chard, cabbage, cardoons, carrots, chili peppers, Jerusalem artichokes, peas, pumpkins, and tomatoes--Evelyne Bloch-Dano explores the world of vegetables in all its facets, from science and agriculture to history, culture, and, of course, cooking.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new windowSearch for your vegetable to find additional information about its natural and cultural history in this collection of Wikipedia-like academic reference works.
- Books on vegetable historySearch results for: Vegetables--history from the library catalog. Use the I Want It button to request book delivery to Thun Library.
Pennsylvania Vegetable Production
- Vegetables | Penn State ExtensionSearch or browse green growing resources on vegetable production from Penn State Extension.
Use the Categories menu to explore Organic Production and Sustainable Agriculture, or search for your vegetable and limit to Application: Commercial. - Pasa - Pennsylvania Sustainable AgricultureResources and information from the trade group for organic farmers in PA.
- PA Certified OrganicInformation and resources about qualifying as a certified organic producer from the USDA-accredited PA Certified Organic certifying agency.
Lancaster Farming
Lancaster Farming is the mid-Atlantic region's premier agricultural newspaper based in Lancaster, PA. The following sections are relevant to vegetable production in PA. Browse the headlines, or search for your vegetable to locate recent articles. You can also browse the print edition in the First Draft collection at the Thun Library Discovery Lab.
Sourcing Pennsylvania Vegetables
- Directory of Pennsylvania Produce Auctions | PA ProduceMap and directory of Pennsylvania's 16 wholesale produce auctions, including Weaverland Produce Auction in Honeybrook.
"Millions of dollars worth of fresh, local Pennsylvania vegetables are sold through these auctions each year." - Find PA Veggies | PA ProduceLinks to lists of farms and markets, CSAs (community supported agriculture), produce auctions, and wholesale growers.
- PA PreferredSelect your vegetable to find farmers and markets in the PA Preferred network of Pennsylvania producers.
- Hoober ProduceSee stock and prices for fresh and value-added produce vendor at the Fairgrounds Farmers Market in Reading, PA.
Vegetable Recipes: Use, Preparation, & Nutrition
[ebook] The New Complete Book of Food: A Nutritional, Medical, and Culinary GuideISBN: 9780816077106Publication Date: 2009Use "SEARCH WITHIN PUBLICATION" to look for your vegetable.
Catalogs the physical, chemical, and medical properties of food; their benefits and hidden dangers; how foods change when they are processed or cooked; how to properly select, prepare, and store food; and more.
Recipes and Preparation
- Vegetable Guide | PA ProduceBrowse by vegetable to find recipes and wholesaler information.
- Cookbook: Pennsylvania Vegetables | PA ProduceTips on sourcing, preparing, using, and storing PA-grown veggies.
- Blog | PA ProduceBrowse the Recipe category or select your vegetable from the Crop list.
- Food Safety for the Older Adults in Your Life | Penn State ExtensionFood safety considerations for recipe preparation.
Vegetable Literacy: cooking and gardening with twelve families from the edible plant kingdom, with over 300 deliciously simple recipesCall Number: TX801.M235 2013ISBN: 9781607741916Publication Date: 2013Vegetable Literacy shows cooks that, because of their shared characteristics, vegetables within the same family can be used interchangeably in cooking.
- Vegetable Cookbooks | Penn State University LibrariesBrowse vegetable cookbooks.
Use the I Want It button to request books from other Penn State libraries.
Recipe Design
The Art and Science of Foodpairing: 10,000 flavour matches that will transform the way you eatCall Number: Engaged Scholarship TP372.5.C68 2020ISBN: 9780228100843Publication Date: 2020The Art and Science of Foodpairing® provides 10,000 flavor matches laid out in taste wheels and color keys. When cooks go to one ingredient, they will find 10 food pairings and a color wheel revealing the taste results.
The Flavor Equation: the science of great cooking explained + more than 100 essential recipesCall Number: Engaged Scholarship TX714.S497 2020ISBN: 9781452182698Publication Date: 2020Aroma, texture, sound, emotion--these are just a few of the elements that play into our perceptions of flavor. In a completely unique and accessible way, Nik Sharma takes readers on an in-depth exploration into the science of taste and demonstrates how to convert approachable spices, herbs, and commonplace pantry items into tasty, simple dishes.
The Food Substitutions BibleCall Number: Engaged Scholarship TX652.J62 2022ISBN: 9780778807063Publication Date: 2022Winner of an International Association of Culinary Professionals (IACP) award, The Food Substitutions Bible is the authoritative guide to making substitutions in the kitchen. The book offers more than 8,000 alternative ingredients, equipment and techniques plus 188 simple recipes, covering emergency substitutions, time-saving substitutions, healthy substitutions, alternatives for hard-to-find ingredients, vegan and kosher alternatives, and ideas for varying the flavor of a dish in countless ways.
Nutritional Health
- Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2020-2025See Chapter 6: Older Adults.
Food and nutrition guidelines from the US Departments of Agriculture and Health & Human Services. - Finding Fiber in Plant-Based Foods | Penn State ExtensionNutritional and culinary guidelines for fiber consumption.
- Nutrition & Food | Penn State ExtensionSearch or browse for nutrition and recipe preparation information. Try searching for your vegetable!
Sustainability & Food Justice
Food Access
- Making healthy food accessible: Student leads pay-what-you-can farmer’s market | Penn State NewsThird year student Jimmy Alamia leads the Feed the People Market Stand at University Park, a pay-what-you-can market selling produce grown at the Dr. Keiko Miwa Ross Student Farm in collaboration with the Lion's Pantry.
- Helping HarvestThe fresh food bank serving Berks and Schuylkill counties.
- Veggie Rx | Berks LaunchboxA program to increase access to fresh produce for patients with chronic, diet-related health concerns.
Includes a list of participating farmers markets. - Easy Cooking from Pantry to Table Newsletter | Penn State ExtensionProvides families with ideas for healthy, low-cost recipes.
See newsletters on sourcing ingredients from farmers markets and food pantries. - Farms Implement Sliding Scale Pricing to Make CSAs Accessible to All | Lancaster FarmingPricing structures to make community supported agriculture (CSA) memberships accessible to more people.
Sustainability & Food Waste
- ReFED Insights EngineExplore the ReFED data dashboard for tracking food waste and identifying solutions.
Access the Food Waste Monitor or Solutions Database and select State: Pennsylvania. - Food Waste Reduction | Pennsylvania Resources CouncilFact sheets on strategies for food waste reduction.
Food Justice Books
[ebook and print] Everybody Eats: communication and the paths to food justiceCall Number: Social Justice HD9008.G74L44 2021ISBN: 9780520314238Publication Date: 2021Using eight case studies of food justice activism, from urban farms to mobile farmers markets, shared kitchens to food policy councils,Everybody Eats highlights the importance of communication--and communicating social justice specifically--in building the kinds of infrastructure needed to create secure and just food systems.
How the Other Half Eats: the untold story of food and inequality in AmericaCall Number: TX360.U6F54 2021ISBN: 9780316427265Publication Date: 2021Inequality in America manifests in many ways, but perhaps nowhere more than in how we eat. From her years of field research, sociologist and ethnographer Priya Fielding-Singh brings us into the kitchens of dozens of families from varied educational, economic, and ethnoracial backgrounds to explore how--and why--we eat the way we do.
Fighting for farming justice : diversity, food access and the USDACall Number: Social Justice S21.C9J48 2021ISBN: 9780367001605Publication Date: 2021With chapters focusing on each settlement Jett provides an overview of the USDA before diving into a closer discussion of the four key settlements, involving African American farmers (Pigford), Native Americans (Keepseagle), Woman farmers (Love) and Latino(a) farmers (Garcia), this book provides a detailed discussion of four class-action discrimination cases that have recently been settled within the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) and have led to a change in the way in which the USDA supports farmers from diverse backgrounds.
Recovering Our Ancestors' Gardens: indigenous recipes and guide to diet and fitnessCall Number: TX715.M6364 2020ISBN: 9780803245259Publication Date: 2020Featuring an expanded array of tempting recipes of indigenous ingredients and practical advice about health, fitness, and becoming involved in the burgeoning indigenous food sovereignty movement, the acclaimed Choctaw author and scholar Devon A. Mihesuah draws on the rich indigenous heritages of this continent to offer a helpful guide to a healthier life.
A Philosophy of Recipes: making, experiencing, and valuingCall Number: Engaged Scholarship TX357.P54 2022ISBN: 9781350145917Publication Date: 2022This volume addresses the nature and identity of recipes from a cross-disciplinary perspective. With contributors specializing in philosophy, law, anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines, this volume will be of vital importance for those looking to understand the complex nature of food and the way recipes have shaped culinary cultures throughout history.
In-Class Activity
Explore at least one resource in each category of your research guide.
Then, share something you learned within each category on the Padlet!
