It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Art Online combines several key encyclopedias and dictionaries important for the history of art and architecture. Together these provide the largest and most authoritative list of biographies of artists in English, as well as an excellent collection of scholarly encyclopedia articles on important topics in the visual arts. Included are Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and others.
The ARTstor Digital Library is an image database featuring works of art and other cultural heritage from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. The library of 2 million images is constantly growing. All images are accompanied by extensive metadata and are rights-cleared for specified educational uses.
Other Important Article Sources
Discover journal articles in these important databases NOT indexed in LionSearch:
Covers all cultures and eras. Sometimes uses the "Get It" button to find full text.
Indexes hundreds of international art magazines, including English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as some published in other languages. Indexing is available for publications 1929+; abstracting for 1994+, and Full Text is often available for 1997+ but keyword searches do not explore the full texts – only the titles, subject headings, & etc.. Not covered by LionSearch.
European & American from late antiquity to 2007. (Open access!)
Indexing for articles and some other publications on European and American art and architecture from late antiquity to the present. Coverage includes publications between 1975 and 2007. This indexing is not covered in LionSearch. For similar data after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
The following important indexes to articles are mostly covered by LionSearch, but sometimes searching them separately is helpful:
Architecture and landscape architecture of all cultures and eras.
Contains descriptions of articles on the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, furniture, and interior design and decoration in more than 700 international magazines. Most indexing began with 1934, but some titles are indexed to dates as early as 1741. Updated weekly.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) indexes publications about art from the late 19th century to the present, providing full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Approximately 12-13,000 new entries are added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
Successor to "BHA," above, for indexing after 2006.
Indexing for European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present. Strong on topics before 1945. With indexing beginning in 2007, this is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA.)
An excellent collection of scholarly journals in all disciplines.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
Bibliographies (of articles and books) on special topics in the history of art selected and described by experts.
Brief essays by experts on major topics in the history of art and architecture. Each essay selects and describes the important scholarship on the topic. Topics include eras, media, national styles, movements, and a selection of important artists. Items in the annotated bibliographies usually link to library holdings.
Descriptions of more than 65,000 catalogues of art auctions published between 1616 and 1900 - most scanned and keyword searchable & downloadable.
This database provides access to descriptions of the published catalogs of nearly 65,500 art auctions held between 1616 and 1900 in dozens of countries throughout Europe and North America. These sales included art in all media and many cultures. Most of the catalogs listed have been scanned and those scans may be viewed, searched by keywords, and downloaded as zip files containing separate jpegs for each page. Many of the catalogues contain annotations indicating the prices obtained for individual works. The database also acts as a listing of libraries that have copies of these catalogs. It is based upon an earlier bibliographic project: Frits Lugt, /Répertoire des catalogues de ventes…/
Search an artist in this database to see what prices have been realized at auctions. Easy for sales back to the 1980s. With work, earlier sales might also be found.
This site offers a variety of art market information. The main feature is a database with millions of records of prices realized at auctions for works by nearly 800,000 artists. These sales records go back to the 1980s. Many records contain brief biographies of the artists and small images of the works. In the “Archives” section of the site, earlier sales records are found, including scanned pages from the Mayer auction index which was published from 1962 through 1987 (each annual volume must be consulted separately) and the Mireur dictionary of a selection of auctions held between 1700 and 1900. Some simple statistical data is offered for many of the artists. The site also contains summaries of annual trends, news stories, forthcoming sales, and other market information.
Special Indexing for iconography (traditional subjects in the visual arts) with an emphasis on Medieval Europe.
A descriptive and bibliographic index of thematic and iconographic content of early Christian and medieval art from apostolic times to 1400 A.D. The online database contains all of the works electronically processed for the print version of the index at Princeton University since 1991 (over 23,000 work of art records as of June 2002), including a growing number of images and bibliographic entries covering iconography, art history, archaeology, and classical and religious studies.
Information on archaeology, with some focus on classical antiquity but including selected pre-classical cultures and the Renaissance interests in classical antiquity
DYABOLA is a specialized indexing service focusing on the ancient world. The most important file it offers is the Archaeological Bibliography (also known as Realkatalog des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts Rom) the most comprehensive database for classical archaeology, dating back to 1956. Select that file for an index to books and journal articles on the antiquities, art, and archaeology in the Mediterranean world from antiquity through the early medieval period. You might first need to check the 'with IP-Access' box and then click 'Start.' You will see a list of the databases where you must click the language flag for the databases to which Penn State subscribes. The search interface is complex. You can access DYABOLA user handbooks at: Universal DYABOLA User Manual.