Top Pick
-
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowCovers all of the visual arts: people, places, major works, styles, periods, techniques, etc.
Recent Art
-
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd ed.)Great for theories, theorists, trends, and concepts such as "the sublime."
-
The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art, 2011From Native American to now. (e-book)
-
A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art, 2015Brief but informative entries. Especially good for critical terms. (e-book)
-
Styles, Schools and Movements, 2005A chronological arrangement so use the index to find a specific topic.
-
International Art Galleries, 2005History of the major commercial galleries of the world's art capitals.
-
Queer Encyclopedia of the Visual Arts, 2004LGBT+ artists and imagery in painting, drawing, photography, printmaking, sculpture, and architecture.
-
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, 2000Mostly mass media and entertainment but also other aspects of pop culture. The paper version is 5 volumes.
-
-
Routledge Handbook of Graffiti and Street Art, 2016Reviews the scholarly literature on 35 broad topics. Use the index for specifics.
-
Photography
-
The Oxford Companion to the Photograph, 2005History, technology, theory, and bios. (e-book)
-
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography, 2008Includes photographers, critics, formal aspects, hardware, institutions, movements, publications, regions, techniques, and styles. 2 volumes.
-
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography, 2006Includes photographers, critics, formal aspects, hardware, institutions, movements, publications, regions, techniques, and styles. 3 volumes.
-
Design and Decor
-
A Dictionary of Modern Design, 2016Brief entries, but convenient. (e-book)
-
-
-
Encyclopedia of Interior Design, 1997Styles, rooms, movements, designers, furnishers, trade names, etc. for all periods and most cultures. 2 volumes.
-
Encyclopedia of Furnishing Textiles, Floorcoverings and Home Furnishing Practices, 1200-1950, 2007Rich in detailed historical information.
-
-
Art Education
-
Handbook of Research and Policy in Art Education
by
The Handbook of Research and Policy in Art Education marks a milestone in the field of art education. Sponsored by the National Art Education Association and assembled by an internationally known group of art educators, this 36-chapter handbook provides an overview of the remarkable progress that has characterized this field in recent decades. Organized into six sections, it profiles and integrates the following elements of this rapidly emerging field: history, policy, learning, curriculum and instruction, assessment, and competing perspectives. Because the scholarly foundations of art education are relatively new and loosely coupled, this handbook provides researchers, students, and policymakers (both inside and outside the field) an invaluable snapshot of its current boundaries and rapidly growing content. In a nutshell, it provides much needed definition and intellectual respectability to a field that as recently as 1960 was more firmly rooted in the world of arts and crafts than in scholarly research.
Publication Date: 2004 -
Encyclopedia of Creativity
by
The first edition of the successful Encyclopedia of Creativity, Two Volume Set served to establish the study of creativity is a field in itself. Now completely updated and revised in its second edition, coverage encompasses the definition of creativity, the development and expression of creativity across the lifespan, the environmental conditions that encourage or discourage creativity, creativity within specific disciplines like music, dance, film, art, literature, etc., the relationship of creativity and mental health, intelligence, and learning styles, and the process of being creative. This reference also appeals to a lay audience with articles specifically on the application of creativity to business settings. Available online via ScienceDirect and in limited print release.- Named a 2012 Outstanding Academic Title by the American Library Association's Choice publication- Serves as a compendium of reviews of a number of domain-specific areas, such as acting, dance, expressive arts, film, food, music, religion, science, sports, theater, and writing.- Creativity and education are examined in articles about thought processes, such as developmental trends in creative abilities and potentials, the enhancement of creativity, intelligence, knowledge, play, prodigies, programs and courses, talent and teaching creativity.- Cognitive aspects of creativity can be investigated in articles about altered and transitional states, analogies, attention, cognitive style, divergent thinking, flow and optimal experience, metacognition, metaphors, problem-finding, problem-solving, and remote associates.- Covers business and organizational creativity in articles about advertising with art, creative visuals, business/management, creativity coaching, creativity exercises, entrepreneurship, group dynamics, innovation, leadership, organizational culture, organizational development, teams, and training, among others.- Explicitly examines the complex interrelationship between society and creativity in articles about awards, conformity and conventionality, the creative sector and class of society, cultural diversity, the dark side of creativity, East vs. West, networking, social psychology, war, zeitgeist, and others.- Personal and interpersonal creativity is discussed in articles relating to collaboration, family, life stages, mentors, networking, personal creativity and self-actualization.- Focuses on scientific information about creativity, there are also articles that discuss brain and neuropsychology, concepts of creativity, definitions of creativity, expertise, longitudinal studies, researching art, artists and art audiences, research methods, phenomenology research and qualitative research.- Online version contains an additional 26 biographies of famously creative people
Publication Date: 2011 -
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2002Summaries of child development, multiculturalism, and other huge topics. (e-book)
