Skip to main content

Zotero

Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension or stand alone system, that helps you collect, manage, cite, and share your research sources

Citation Styles

Zotero offers thousands of citation styles and they can be easily changed.

  1. Find the 'preferences' option under Find in the top menu bar
  2. Select "Cite"
  3. Click the "Styles" tab
  4. Select one of the pre installed styles and click "OK"
  5. If you want a style not listed, click on "get additional styles" to search for and select the style you want.

Word Processor Integration

Zotero can be integrated with Microsoft Word to generate both in-text citations and bibliographies within your text document using references from your Zotero library.

  • The word processor plugins are bundled with Zotero and should be installed automatically for each installed word processor when you first start Zotero. Once the add-in is installed, you will see a Zotero tab in the top menu bar of your Word document.
  • Use the icons under the Zotero tab to select your citation style, insert citations from your Zotero library, and generate your bibliography.

Creating standard Bibliographies

There are two ways to create formatted bibliographies using Zotero without the word processor integration.

Quick Copy

  • Select your citation style by clicking the gear icon, select preferences, and click Export. Select your citation style from the drop down menu.
  • Drag and drop references from the center pane in Zotero into any text field (Word document, web page, blog, etc.).
  • Zotero will automatically format references according to your selected citation style.

Right-click to Select

  • Highlight one or more references in the center pane in Zotero (use Shift-arrow key to highlight multiple references).
  • Right-click (or control-click on Macs) to select “Create Bibliography from Items...”
  • Select your citation style and output method. If you select Copy to Clipboard, you can then open a text document and right-click to paste the formatted bibliography into your document.

Create Annotated Bibliographies

To create an annotated bibliography in APA style:

  • Select American Psychological Association 6th edition (annotated bibliography with abstract) as your citation style. If you don't see this style in your list click "get additional styles."
  • Enter your annotation in the abstract field (you'll need to delete any abstract that was automatically imported).
  • Use the techniques listed above in the "create standard bibliographies" section to create a file with the annotated bibliography.

To create an annotated bibliography in Chicago style:

  • Select Chicago Manual of Style 16th edition (note, annotated bibliography) as your citation style. If you don't see this style in your list click "get additional styles."
  • Enter your annotation in the Extra field (you'll need to delete anything that was automatically imported).
  • Use the techniques listed above in the "create standard bibliographies" section to create a file with the annotated bibliography.

To create annotated bibliographies in other styles:

  1. Type your annotation into the "Extra" field in Zotero (this field is almost at the bottom of the record) [Note: As to how much text can be stored in the Extra field, there is no limit on the client side. For syncing, text is limited to 64KB.]
  2. Download and install the style you want from the resource at Eastern Michigan University (listed below)
  3. Follow the techniques listed above in the "create standard bibliographies" section making sure you select the correct style.
  4. The following styles are available: APA, MLA, Chicago Author-Date, American Sociological Association, American Anthropological Association, American Medical Association, and Journal of Cell Biology.