Best source for Education literature. Unlike other library databases, ERIC allows you to search for education levels (such as elementary or secondary) and target audience (such as parents or teachers). This version links to Penn State's paid journal subscriptions, enabling you to read articles online.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the major database for education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department. of Education. The same database content is available on many platforms.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.
Helpful for behavioral and psychological topics, such as child development, learning disabilities, and school psychology.
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Important if you want to focus on journal articles that are most heavily cited by other researchers.
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.Navigating Web of Knowledge with JAWS
Helpful for the history of Education, including biographies of important educators and histories of specific institutions.
Search for articles on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from national, state and local historical journals are covered, as well as historical articles in major humanities and social science journals. Also includes citations to reviews, books, and dissertations.Keywords: African-American, Afro-American, Black, Hispanic, Latino, Colonial, Pennsylvania, Native Americans, women, gender, revolution, revolutionary war, civil war, Vietnam War, Cold War, World War I, World War II, Immigration, Immigrants, labor, agriculture, culture, society, politics, religion, economic, military, historiography. App information
An archive of major scholarly journals, including Education. Unlike many library databases, JSTOR includes and searches full-text articles back to the 1800s. Thus it is helpful for finding resources on obscure topics.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
Helpful for Education topics in communication disorders, language arts, and linguistics.
The definitive database on the nature and use of language, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts covers three fundamental areas: research in linguistics (the nature and structure of human speech); research in language.
Useful for political aspects of Education, PolicyFile includes research reports from think thanks and other research organizations. Unlike other library databases, PolicyFile enables you to search for "political leaning" (such as conservative or progressive).
PolicyFile draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers. Some well known contributors include: the American Enterprise Institute, Brookings Institution, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Cato Institute, Center for Defense Information, Center for Strategic and International Studies, Council on Foreign Relations, Democratic Leadership Council, Economic Strategy Institute, Federation of American Scientists, Heritage Foundation, Hoover Institution, Hudson Institute, Institute for International Economics, International Monetary Fund, National Center for Policy Analysis, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation, United States Institute of Peace, and the World Bank. Where available, access to home pages, electronic mail addresses and fulltext are made available within individual abstracts.
Helpful for sociological topics, such as class, gender, or race in Education.
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.