Library Guides: HIST 597: Animal Histories: Animals in History

Scholarly Databases in History

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The main database for findings articles and other works about U.S. and Canadian history
Search for articles on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from national, state and local historical journals are covered, as well as historical articles in major humanities and social science journals. Also includes citations to reviews, books, and dissertations. Keywords: African-American, Afro-American, Black, Hispanic, Latino, Colonial, Pennsylvania, Native Americans, women, gender, revolution, revolutionary war, civil war, Vietnam War, Cold War, World War I, World War II, Immigration, Immigrants, labor, agriculture, culture, society, politics, religion, economic, military, historiography.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Find articles and other materials dealing with world history for the period 1450 to the present
Search for articles and other publications on world history from 1450 to present, (except for the United States and Canada which are indexed in the companion work, America: History and Life). The database includes articles in journals worldwide, including a selection of major social science and humanities journals. Also included are references to dissertations and books.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Find articles and other materials dealing with the period from 400 to 1500.
Indexes articles in journals, conference proceedings, and essay collections published worldwide. Publications dealing with the period 400-1500 and published since 1967 are covered. Subject areas include: Classics, Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Arabic and Islamic Studies, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Crusades, Hagiography, Onomastics, Numismatics, Historiography, Epigraphy, medieval Manuscripts, Charters, Documents. Middle Ages.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Covers all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
The on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window
Use to find articles and other materials about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
A selective list of key works identified by scholars from around the world for inclusion in the Handbook.
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.

Primary Sources

Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America (formerly American Indian Histories and Culture) This link opens in a new window
Primary sources from first contact through the twentieth century including: manuscripts, artwork, photographs, maps, books and newspapers
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America is a digital collection providing insight into Indigenous Cultures and European/American relations from first contact through the civil rights movement of the twentieth century. Users can explore primary source materials including: manuscripts, artwork, photographs, interactive maps, printed materials and newspapers. Taken from the collections at the Newberry Library in Chicago.
America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
Searchable monographs, pamphlets and other published works. Includes Early American Imprints, a collection of works produced in the United States before 1820.
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera including American Broadsides and Ephemera; Afro-Americana Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1535-1922; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800, and Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819, and Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Includes some natural history collections.
The ARTstor Digital Library is an image database featuring works of art and other cultural heritage from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. The library of 2 million images is constantly growing. All images are accompanied by extensive metadata and are rights-cleared for specified educational uses.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text works published in the British Isles before 1700.
Early English Books Online contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard's and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). Coverage includes the first book printed in English by William Caxton and features works by Malory, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, and Galileo. Novels, prayer books, pamphlets, almanacs, calendars, and many other types of primary sources are included. The works are presented as images that can be viewed online or downloaded in PDF format for viewing off-line.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Full texts and images of over 180,000 titles and editions printed in the British Isles and the Americas between 1701 and 1800. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more.
Sort Database Group
Full texts and images of over 180,000 titles and editions printed in the British Isles and the Americas between 1701 and 1800. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more.

Historical Newspapers, American
Historical Newspapers, International

Early Works about Latin America

In addition to searching the CAT or WorldCAT by keywords and date (e.g. Bolivia and 1800-1825), the resources below can help you identify works about colonial Latin America. Also see the e-books section of the guide for databases of early published works.

Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America, from its discovery to the present time.
A list of published works (books, pamphlets, serials) about the Americas, from the time of discovery to the early 1900s. Arrangement of the original volumes is alphabetical by author. There is also a massive consolidated Title-Author list via Gale.
http://www.gale.com/sabin-americana/
Conquistadors: The Struggle for Colonial Power in Latin America, 1492-1825
News and Microforms Library, Call # F1410.C66
Title list and collection guide online
A microfilm collection featuring expedition records, original letters and maps of exploration and colonization, and "diaries of discoveries" from South America. Includes European botanical and geographical exploration in South America.
Colonial Latin American Manuscripts and Transcripts in the Obadiah Rich Collection
News and Microforms Library, Call # F1410.C656
Title List and Collection Guide Online
Microfilm collection of letters, documents and transcripts relating to the discovery, conquest and colonization of Brazil, Ecuador, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Venezuela, the Moluccas, and the Philippines; and to the Casa de Contratación and the Council of the Indies. Correspondents include the kings of Spain and their emissaries in the New World. Transcripts are from the 1780s and mostly in the hand of Antonio de Ugina.
European Americana: a chronological guide to works printed in Europe relating to the Americas, 1493-1776 by William Blake; David V. Erdman; Donald K. Moore
In six print volumes this set lists every known (as of 1977) work published by Europeans about the Americas before 1750

Online Primary Sources

AnimalBase
Provides digitized zoological books and journal articles (most from prior to 1900). Maintained by the University of Gottingen, Germany.
Expeditions and Discoveries: Sponsored Exploration and Scientific Discovery in the Modern Age
Field notes, letters, maps, photographs, and published materials relating to a range of worldwide expeditions from 1626 to 1953 (from Harvard)
Historical Medical Library of the College of Physicians
Searchable collection of medical images includes some relating to animals.
Traditional Animal Foods of Indigeneous Peoples of Northern North America
Lengthy scholarly essays with citations to primary sources, organized by cultural group and animal.

Primary Sources in Library Catalogs

To find published primary sources, use library catalogs and e-book collections such as those below.

In addition to keywords, try the following strategies

For Travel Accounts - use the heading "Description and Travel" to find scientific and personal accounts written about a region.
example, Bolivia Description and Travel.

Do advanced searches for relevant subjects and keywords with publication date limits.

Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new window
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
OCLC WorldCat database is the OCLC online union catalog. It contains over 43 million records describing library holdings around the world.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the libraries of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California, and other partners, HathiTrust is a repository of digitized materials in all disciplines. Its content--primarily scanned books and journals-- may be searched via authors, titles, subjects, and other data elements.