Full-text of hundreds of published histories, mostly written during the 19th and early 20th centuries. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and some early town and city plans.
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania provides portraits of people, places and events, putting the state’s local history into current context with the examination of demographic, social and cultural transformations. Included in this collection of 283 titles are tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans. Use this collection to support research in areas such as regional studies, social history, genealogy, economics and business.
To identify additional county histories in the library search The CAT, our online catalog, conduct a keyword search on the name of the county and the word history. For example, Centre and History, or Allegheny and History.
The online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries.
Includes books, ebooks, videos, periodicals, maps, music, digitized works, microfilm titles, and other formats that are in the University Libraries' collections.
Note: you will not find articles from newspapers, magazines, or journals in the library catalog.
Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million titles. Updates: Hourly as new records are added or updated.
A digital catalog and repository created by research libraries. Includes full-text sources not in Google Books.
Sponsored by the libraries of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California, and other partners, HathiTrust is a repository of digitized materials in all disciplines. Its content--primarily scanned books and journals-- may be searched via authors, titles, subjects, and other data elements.
An online collection of historical works, including Pennsylvania county histories, atlases, illustrated works, Civil War histories, writings by and about prominent Pennsylvanians, and publications produced by state and local historical agencies.