Using secondary sources is often the most efficient way to do legal research. They provide analysis by legal scholars and citations to the most important court cases relevant to the point(s) of law you are researching.
In addition to general law encyclopedias and law reviews, commentary on the law is available in many other sources. These resources will provide you with background and analysis of legal topics, as well as citations to many of the most important laws, regulations, and court cases on your topic.
One of the major legal publishers, BNA provides a library of reports, newsletters, and commentary related to legal topics. Once in the library you will need to choose a subject specific file to search. You can set up alerts to receive announcements of new developments in topic areas of interest. Examples of topic areas include: criminal law, labor law, environmental law, intellectual property, and many more.
A collection of more than 200 law related news, analysis, and reference products, providing intensive coverage of legal and regulatory developments and case law covering a wide range of topics including Antitrust, Banking, Bankruptcy, Corporate, Criminal Law, Employee Benefits, Employment and Labor, Environment and Safety, Ethics, Family Law, Health Care, Homeland Security, Intellectual Property, International, International Tax, Litigation, Product Liability, Securities, Tax law, Trade, and Commerce.
CCH (Commerce Clearing House) nother major legal publisher, it provides a wide array of resources through its Intelliconnect database.
Comprehensive tax service providing federal, state, and international tax research source materials, including full-text statutes, regulations, administrative and judicial opinions, commentary, and citations.
an online collection of laws, regulations, case law, and secondary source materials for countries in the Americas.
The National Law Center for Inter-American Free Trade's InterAm Database is an on-line collection of laws, regulations, case law, and secondary source materials for countries in the Americas. This collection is primarily in the original language (Spanish or Portuguese) but some materials are translated into English. The database is updated daily and arranged in over 25 topical areas related to trade and investment.