Traces the evolution from the early homosexual rights movement through a century of history and into the contemporary gay and lesbian rights movement. It defines the key organizations and presents their leaders, the essential issues and the strategies those issues suggest, and the situation in numerous countries. Entries for numerous countries provide a global perspective.
A comprehensive overview and resource guide for the Lesbian Liberation Movement - its history, successes, setbacks, controversies, and issues. Includes a chronology, contextual overview, dictionary entries that cover persons, laws, terminology, issues, and countries, and an extensive bibliography of primary resources and current work.
Beginning in 1869, when the study of homosexuality was said to have begun with the establishment of sexology, this encyclopedia offers accounts of international developments in an area that now occupies a critical place in many fields of academic endeavours.
During the 20th century through today, gay and lesbian artists, writers, political activists, and sports figures contributed their talents to all areas of popular culture. The "Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture" identifies the people, films, TV shows, literature, and sports figures that have made significant contributions to both gay and lesbian popular culture, and American popular culture.
A comprehensive work showcasing the enormous contribution of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer artists to painting, drawing, photography, printmaking, sculpture, and architecture. International in scope, the volume includes overviews of the various periods in art history, from Classical Art to Contemporary Art.
No single volume has ever achieved the breadth of this scholarly, yet eminently readable compendium, which includes: overviews of genres, such as opera, ballet, cabaret, modern dance, rock, disco, and hip-hop; discussions of topics like glam rock, music videos, and AIDS activism; and fascinating biographical entries on hundreds of artists.
Covering gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender, and questioning life and culture with an international approach to the subject, this book provides information on 'queer culture', including coverage and analysis of ongoing issues such as same-sex marriages and the international AIDS epidemic.
This three-volume encyclopedia provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index.
a classic source of information on legitimate (i.e., nonpornographic) gay and lesbian film and video. Listing films from around the world throughout the medium's history, the book documents efforts by individuals who either openly or discreetly produced films with gay or lesbian themes or portrayed gay or lesbian characters, as well as gays and lesbians who portrayed straight characters.
An A-Z reference source on the theme of same-sex desire, gender variance and the sacred, this book examines the often-suppressed spiritual dimension of homosexuality. Its coverage includes archetypal figures such as deities, spirits and the characters of fairy tales; sacred texts including religious narratives; myths and legends; symbols and metaphors; persons and groups embodying the domain, such as Native American Indian berdaches; and works of art, including those of painting, sculpture, music, dance, drama and film.