Includes materials printed in the American colonies and United States before 1820
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera including American Broadsides and Ephemera; Afro-Americana Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1535-1922; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800, and Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819, and Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819.
Millions of high quality images from heritage instituions
The ARTstor Digital Library is an image database featuring works of art and other cultural heritage from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. The library of 2 million images is constantly growing. All images are accompanied by extensive metadata and are rights-cleared for specified educational uses.
Documents and reports from Congress. An excellent source for topics like UFOs.
Congressional provides access to the best web resources for congressional and legislative information. This includes services available to Penn State Users only, such as Congressional Universe (1789-to date) as well as other free services that provide similar or related information such as Thomas (1993-to date) and GPO Access (1993-to date). The Guided Tour provides a step-by-step approach to congressional and legislative information for users who have never done research of this type before. Updates:Continuous
Works published primarily in England before 1700. Includes many early published accounts of classic legends and tales.
Early English Books Online contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard's and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). Coverage includes the first book printed in English by William Caxton and features works by Malory, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, and Galileo. Novels, prayer books, pamphlets, almanacs, calendars, and many other types of primary sources are included. The works are presented as images that can be viewed online or downloaded in PDF format for viewing off-line.
A digital catalog and online repository of books, journals, and other publications. Includes millions of items out of copyright and available for viewing. Penn State users can log in to download texts or create collections.
Sponsored by the libraries of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California, and other partners, HathiTrust is a repository of digitized materials in all disciplines. Its content--primarily scanned books and journals-- may be searched via authors, titles, subjects, and other data elements.
Full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English
With over a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library, Literature Online is the world's largest cross-searchable database of literature and criticism.
A few Search Strategies
In the CAT and/or Lionsearch
Limit by date to discover historical texts
Use the subject headings "fiction", or "drama" to find literary accounts, e.g. vampires fiction
Use the subject headings "pictorial works" or "in art" to find illustrations, e.g. monsters pictorial works
Use the subject heading "films" to look for films by genre (horror films, monster films etc...). You can also limit searches by format (DVD or video or streaming video