Primary source accounts of early journeys across the globe. Includes records of early scientific discoveries, European expansionism and trade.
Explore five centuries of journeys across the globe, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts in this multi-archive collection dedicated to the history of exploration.
The ARTstor Digital Library is an image database featuring works of art and other cultural heritage from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. The library of 2 million images is constantly growing. All images are accompanied by extensive metadata and are rights-cleared for specified educational uses.
Books, pamphlets and other works published in the American colonies from 1620-1800
Evans Digital Edition (1639-1800) consists of digitized facsimiles of publications produced in the American colonies and the early United States. Derived from entries listed in Charles Evans's American Bibliography, and supplemented from other sources, it includes books, pamphlets, and broadsides on many topics, and is a fundamental resource for early American history, literature, philosophy, and religion.
Books, pamphlets and other sources printed in England or in works in English published in other countries between 1475-1700
Early English Books Online contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard's and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). Coverage includes the first book printed in English by William Caxton and features works by Malory, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, and Galileo. Novels, prayer books, pamphlets, almanacs, calendars, and many other types of primary sources are included. The works are presented as images that can be viewed online or downloaded in PDF format for viewing off-line.
Records of the British trading company including expedition reports from around the globe.
"East India Company offers access to a unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947."
Sources for the study of global commodities (tobacco, fur, coffee, etc...) in world history
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.
Primary source documents. mostly covering British, Irish, and Scottish history during the years 1100-1800.
Primary source documents. mostly covering British, Irish, and Scottish history during the years 1100-1800. Key sources include the Calendar of State Papers, Close Rolls, Fine Rolls, Acts of the Privy Council, publications from the Royal Commission on Historical Manuscripts and selected original manuscripts from the British National Archives. The documents record the political, ecclesiastical, social, and economic conditions in Britain, Ireland, and Scotland, with some coverage of Continental Europe and the American colonies.
Millions of digitized books and other materials from academic libraries. Includes many titles published before 1800.
Sponsored by the libraries of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California, and other partners, HathiTrust is a repository of digitized materials in all disciplines. Its content--primarily scanned books and journals-- may be searched via authors, titles, subjects, and other data elements.
American Indian Histories and Cultures is a digital collection providing insight into American Indians and European/American relations from first contact through the civil rights movement of the twentieth century. Users can explore primary source materials including: manuscripts, artwork, photographs, interactive maps, printed materials and newspapers. Taken from the collections at the Newberry Library in Chicago.
Rare and original documents on westward expansion in American from the 18th to the mid-twentieth century
From early topographical sketches and pioneers’ accounts, to photographs of Buffalo Bill and his ‘Wild West’ stars, explore the fact and the fiction of westward expansion in America from the early eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century. Browse a wide range of rare and original documents including printed books, journals, historic maps, broadsides, periodicals, advertisements, photographs, artwork and more.
Original documents exchanged between the governors of British colonies in North America and the Caribbean and the Colonial Office in Britain. Includes diaries, map and more relating to seventeenth and eighteenth-century American history
Original documents exchanged between the governors of British colonies in North America and the Caribbean and the Colonial Office in Britain. Among the correspondence are diaries, maps, broadsides, laws, public notices, newspaper clippings, and more covering all aspects of seventeenth and eighteenth-century American history. Many of the documents are handwritten and are not keyword searchable. They can be searched by date, name, region and topics including; early settlements, Native Americans, Trade, Wars, Slavery and the slave trade. Penn State has access to Module 1: Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries and Module 2: Towards Revolution
The complete archive of the magazine from 1888 to 1994. Includes coverage of global cultures, nature, science, technology and the environment.
Featuring the complete archive of the magazine from 1888 to 1994, National Geographic Magazine Archive includes every page and every photograph, providing in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology and the environment. The database is fully searchable by subject, geography, or image.
Records of the Virginia Company of London documenting the development of Virginia
This online project presents those Ferrar Papers which are in Magdalene College, Cambridge. They are reproduced by permission of the Master and Fellows of the college, with whom the copyright remains. In addition, transcripts of those documents that throw light on the Virginia Company of London are included, as are the four volumes of The Records of the Virginia Company of London (Washington, D.C., 1906-35), edited by Susan Myra Kingsbury.