Documents from the U.S. National Security Archives, includes formerly classified materials on U.S. economic and political relations with Japan (focus on period from 1960-2000)
DNSA is a full-text, online resource providing coverage of more than 150,000 curated primary source documents culled from the collections of the National Security Archive. There are 58 complete collections such as the Cuban Missile Crisis, death squads in Guatemala, US relations with Iran and Iraq, Afghanistan, and terrorism policy.
Diplomatic correspondence, maps, summaries of events and other materials kept in the British Foreign Office Files
Published in three parts, this collection makes available extensive coverage of British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952: Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific, 1931-1945 Occupation of Japan, 1946-1952 Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930. Incorporating the Taishō to the Shōwa periods, these papers throw light on Anglo-Japanese ties in a time of shifting alliances. These Foreign Office files cover British concerns over colonial-held territory in the Far East, as well as Japanese relations with China, Russia, Germany and the United States. Consisting of diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, maps, summaries of events and diverse other material, this collection from the rich FO 371 and FO 262 series unites formerly restricted Japan-centric documents, and is enhanced by the addition of a selection of FO 371 Western and American Department and Far Eastern sub papers.
Manuscripts for the study of Meiji society, culture, ethnology and education from the papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925) an American living and teaching in Japan.
Manuscripts for the study of Meiji society, culture, ethnology and education from the papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925). Morse was one of the first Americans to live in Japan – teaching science at the Imperial University of Tokyo – and he devoted much of his life to the task of documenting life in Japan before it was transformed by Western modernization. In addition to preserving the household records of a samurai family and many accounts of the tea ceremony, Morse made notes on subjects as diverse as shop signs, fireworks, hairpins, agricultural tools, artists’ studios, music, games, printing, carpentry, the Ainu, gardens, household construction, art and architecture.The Edward S Morse papers document the numerous and valuable contributions made by Morse to the areas of malacology, zoology, ethnology, archaeology and art history.
A wide-range of primary sources, including a section on Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online* provides full-text, fully searchable content from a wide range of primary sources. Archives include works in Western as well as non-Western languages and are sourced from rare collections at libraries and other institutions from around the globe. Currently, collections include *British Politics and Society*, *European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection*, *Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange*, and *British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture*, with more collections to come.
Documents produced by the British Parliament, including Bills, committee reports, and reports submitted to Parliament.
Contains documents produced by the British Parliament, including Bills, committee reports, and reports submitted to Parliament. As the working documents of government, the parliamentary papers encompass all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. The collection includes the Official Report of debates in Parliament, from both the House of Commons and House of Lords, supplemented by official histories and proceedings. Navigating ProQuest with JAWS
Full text books, pamphlets and periodicals largely from Western countries.
Full text books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights through 1945. Includes materials from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist; many other titles present a purely objective record of the condition of women at a given time.
Documents on the global history of the modern women's rights movements
Backed by a global editorial board of 130 leading scholars from around theworld, this landmark collection [Women and Social Movements, International]of primary sources illuminates a vast area of modern history. Through thewritings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, andconference proceedings at which pivotal decisions were made and socialmovements were born, this online collection traces the global history ofwomen's international agendas and illuminates their enormous influence onthe course of events and shifts in attitudes that have defined modern life.