It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use only a few keywords when you search.Do not type a whole sentence or question. Databases will look for each word you type in, and will only show you articles that contain ALL of those words. If you type a whole sentence in a database, you likely will miss many articles that would be useful, because they don't happen to contain the words you searched for.
To find more relevant results quicker, try searching for your keywords in the abstracts or titles of sources.If a keyword is mentioned in the title or the abstract (a summary of the source), chances are, the whole article focuses on that topic, rather than mentioning the term briefly.
Look for one article,book chapter, or report that is very relevant to your research question to start with. Focus your attention on this source to get more ideas for subtopics and subquestions you want to find information about. Also, look at the references for additional sources.
Note: Do not attempt to find one source that makes your exact argument with the same supporting reasons and evidence. Your goal is to say something new, even if what you are suggesting is a small difference.
Contains academic journal articles, magazine articles, news, video, statistics, argumentative "viewpoints", and background information on many trending topics. Use ideas in the "viewpoints" to support your position or as counterarguments.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides research and background information on social issues. The database contains the essays from the Opposing Viewpoints series, supplemented by statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews.
Contains reports written by journalists that cover many trending topics related to politics and social issues. These reports include background information, arguments in the "pro/con" sections, and many references.
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, archive, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews.
Lists 5,300+ full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals on a variety of topics.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Lists 5000+ magazines, journals, and newspapers on a variety of topics.
Searches multiple ProQuest products, indexing 5,000+ magazines, journals, and newspapers. It contains Full text (word file with no photos or tables) or images (looks like real paper publication) to over 2,000 journals, and Full text to 150+ newspapers. Keywords: news, new york times,current events, contemporary issues, hot topics, english 15,cas100.
Contains local, regional, U.S., and some international newspapers.
The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources -- all in one easy-to-search database with a world map. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Also includes limited streaming video.