Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PADM 594: Research Topics

Literature Reviews

About Annotated Bibliographies

What is an annotated bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a list of source citations that you intend to use in your research paper. Each citation is accompanied by a paragraph or two that may provide a brief summary, analysis, evaluation, and comments about rationale for inclusion of the source (such as relevance to the research paper, author's credentials, etc.). 

Why are annotated bibliographies useful to the research process?

Annotated bibliographies help the researcher to clarify the focus of each source, identify common themes between the sources, organize information, and ultimately determine whether each source is worthy of inclusion in the final research paper.

How to Write an Annotated Bib

There is no standardized format for an annotated bibliography, so you should always follow your professor's instructions, and ask any questions you may have. Your citations should be written in APA Style.


Here is an example of an annotated bibliography entry. Always check your assignment instructions in case you have different requirements.

 

Grimmelikhuijsen, S., Jilke, S., Olsen, A.L. and Tummers, L. (2017), Behavioral public administration: Combining insights from public administration and psychology. Public Administration Review, 77(1), 45-56. doi:10.1111/puar.12609

This article discusses the need for the field of public administration to be informed by recent advances in psychology. The authors expand upon Simon's and Waldo's original arguments by including a more detailed look at the psychology of individuals and groups. The authors provide practical examples of this approach in action. Political psychology and behavioral economics should be further integrated into discussions revolving around the intersection of public administration and psychology. The authors conclude by proposing an agenda for developing a behavioral public administration.

This article was published in Public Administration Review, and has been peer reviewed. It contributes a unique aspect to my collection of other sources - an argument for a more psychology-focused approach. I intend to draw upon the authors' proposed agenda for developing a behavioral public administration to inform my own recommendations for public administration management training. While the article is a few years old, I believe the main points are still current. The authors have all published numerous articles that focus on the intersection of public administration and psychology, so they are some of the most knowledgeable experts on this subject.