Includes a collection of 19th century African American newspapers
Accessible Archives provides access to the full texts of articles from a selection of 18th & 19th century American newspapers (more than 175,000 articles). The newspapers selected are especially useful for researching African American, women's studies, and Pennsylvania topics but can also help with many other types of historical research. Keywords: Civil War, colonial, revolution, Revolutionary War, abolition, abolitionists, slavery.
Pre-1888 content includes Freedom's Journal, the first African American newspaper and Frederick Douglass' Paper (North Star)
Beginning with the Freedom's Journal (NY)--the first African American newspaper published in the United States--this database includes page reproductions of African American newspapers from every region of the United States.
More than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
Readex's Early American Newspapers (1690-1922) is a unique, webbased archive of Americana that provides a fascinating glimpse into our nation's past. The Early American Newspaper Collection will feature the images and full-text content from scores of historical publications.
Letters, editorials, speeches and news articles written by African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865
A unique set of primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865. The content includes letters, speeches, editorials, articles, sermons, and essays. The majority of the content is from the United States, with some coverage of the abolitionist movement in England, Scotland, Ireland and Canada, Over 15,000 items written by nearly 300 Black men and women are available for searching.
Includes a digitized image of issues of The Chicago Tribune from 1849-1990: news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements. Searchers can use basic keyword, advanced, guided, and relevancy search techniques to locate information. Or, they can browse through issues page by page, as one would browse a printed edition. Search results lists provide bibliographic information, including date, issue, article headline, page number, and byline (where given). Users may choose to display the full page image of any page in any issue.
Includes America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922
A searchable full-text collection of hundreds of papers selected by U.S. states as part of the Library of Congress National Digital Newspaper Program. Dates range from 1789 to 1922, but available content varies for each newspaper. Searches can be limited by state, newspaper, language, or date. The site also includes a separately searchable newspaper directory which provides information about American newspapers published from 1690 to the present. Directory searches can be used to identify newspapers by place of publication, date, keyword, frequency, language, and type of newspaper.
Selected newspapers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama.
A collection of newspapers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. Some states have only scattered issues available - check the holdings statement on the front page to confirm dates of coverage.
Contains a selection of regional and local newspapers, most from PA, NY and Ohio.
NewspaperARCHIVE is a database of newspaper page images from Pennsylvania, New York and Ohio, with a small number of titles from other states. Searches are automatically limited to the content Penn State has access to. NewspaperARCHIVE is particularly good for accessing historical newspapers from smaller and medium-sized cities and towns across the Commonwealth (e.g., Altoona, Dubois, Gettysburg), as well as NY and Ohio. The text is fully searchable, but there are gaps in coverage for many titles.
Includes a digitized image of every backfile issue of The New York Times from cover to cover, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements. Searchers can use basic keyword, advanced, guided, and relevancy search techniques to locate information. Or, they can browse through issues page by page, as one would browse a printed edition. Search results lists provide bibliographic information, including date, issue, article headline, page number, and byline (where given). Users may choose to display the full page image of any page in any issue.
Words, photographs, and advertisements from selected newspapers published during the pivotal years before, during, and after the U.S. Civil War.
Provides access to a selection of Pennsylvania newspapers published during the critical years before, during, and after the U.S. Civil War. The dates of coverage vary by the paper, some publications go back to the late 1840's, others extend beyond the Civil War into the early Reconstruction years. The digital reproductions include all words, photographs, and advertisements as well as an exact page image of the newspaper. For readers who prefer to see the newspapers intact, each issue can be browsed by date. In addition to national issues such as war, abolition, and slavery, readers will find many articles documenting political and social life on the homefront. These include topics such as recreational and social events, sports, prose, and local business and economic news.
Contains Call - Chronicle-Examiner (April 19, 1906), The Daily Dramatic Chronicle (1865-1868), The Daily Morning Chronicle (1868-1869), San Francisco Chronicle (1869-Current File).
Founded by two teenage brothers in 1865 when the West was still wild, this newspaper lets researchers travel back in time to experience the completion of the transcontinental railroad, the Klondike gold rush, the San Francisco earthquake and fire of 1906, America's entry into World War I, and many other events that shaped both the City by the Bay and the United States. During its first five decades, the San Francisco Chronicle presented issues from a young, Northwestern perspective, giving researchers a window through which to study westward expansion, Chinese immigration, machine politics, urban planning, war, public policy, and more. Mark Twain, Bret Harte, Jack London, and Rex Beach are among the writers who contributed to the San Francisco Chronicle's pages, some without benefit of a byline during the early years. To trace San Francisco's history from a muddy frontier town full of pistol-packing pioneers and corrupt politicians, through its entry into the Roaring 20s, start here.
Cross-search historical newspaper collections including 19th Century U.S. newspapers, the Times of London Digital Archive, the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection and, the Illustrated London News
The Gale NewsVault allows researchers to cross-search historical newspaper collections, including the Times Digital Archive, the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century US Newspapers, and many more. Providing access to over 10 million digitized facsimile pages, Gale NewsVault allows the most effective searching across many newspapers.
More than 170 periodicals by and about African-Americans. Pre-1888 content primarily consists of issues of the African Repository published by the American Colonization Society.
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, organizational newsletters, and other genres. Includes many Rare and short-lived titles.
Full-text of special interest and general magazines including literary and professional journals,children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Contains full-text of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741 and 1900. Digitized page images reproduce the publications as they appeared when originally published.
Magazines and journals from the the late seventeenth to the early twentieth centuries.
Full texts of hundreds of journals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth centuries. Includes some of the major magazines as well as specialized titles in literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
Pre-1888 content include issues of, Abeille (New Orleans), Santa Fe Daily New Mexican, and Voz del Nuevo Mundo(San Francisco)
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. Based on the: Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, a national research effort directed by Professor Nicol�s Kanellos, this digital resource is the first in a new American Ethnic Newspapers series, available within America's Historical Newspapers.
Pre-1888 content; La Estrella Occidente (1855-1876), Boletín Oficial (1876-1879), El Fronteriz0 (1882-) and La Constitución (1880-)
A collection of historical Mexican and Mexican Americanpublications from Tuscon, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico published from the mid-1800s to the 1970s. Covers important periods in Mexican-American history, from the Mexican Revolution to the Bracero Programto the Chicano Movement. From the University of Arizona libraries.
Historical newspapers from North, South and Central America. Dates of coverage vary and some papers will be incomplete.
Full page reproductions of newspapers from North, South and Central America including; Argentina, Belize, Bolivia Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Trinidad and Tobago, and Venezuela. Dates of coverage vary by country and some papers will be incomplete. The entire database may be searched at once, or papers can be browsed by country, publication date, language or newspaper title. Includes Series 1 & 2 combined.