The Pattee/Paterno Libraries maintain a strong collection of law materials, housing one of the largest collections of print and electronic legal materials in Central Pennsylvania. Combined with the resources of The Penn State Law (University Park) Library and Dickinson School of Law Library (Carlisle, PA) faculty and students have first-rate legal research collection. Support services for these collections reside in the Social Sciences Library on 2nd Floor Paterno.
The electronic resources listed in this guide are available to all Penn State faculty, staff, and students with an access ID and password. Alumni and visitors who wish to use these resources (on-site) for educational (non-commercial) research can request a Limited Penn State Account at accounts.psu.edu prior to their visit. A valid non-psu.edu email and a government issued identification is required.
Visitors to the Libraries may use the free wireless service. Please bring a flash drive to save any information you retrieve or be prepared to email the materials to yourself.
The primary databases for beginning your legal research are listed below. Non-Penn State users can access the databases by visiting any Penn State Campus Library.
While the majority of legal materials are available online only, there are still a number of key resources in print available for consultation. Some are located in the Reference collection (2nd floor Paterno). Most of the remainder are on 3rd Floor Paterno, with much of the historical collection in the Library Annex. Staff at the Service desk and assist you with the print collection.