Find articles and other materials dealing with the period from 400 to 1500.
Indexes articles in journals, conference proceedings, and essay collections published worldwide. Publications dealing with the period 400-1500 and published since 1967 are covered. Subject areas include: Classics, Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Arabic and Islamic Studies, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Crusades, Hagiography, Onomastics, Numismatics, Historiography, Epigraphy, medieval Manuscripts, Charters, Documents. Middle Ages.
Use to find information on topics pertaining to the period 400 to 1700 AD.
ITER is an interdisciplinary database for finding information on topics pertaining to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700AD). The database includes citations for books, articles, and selected reviews. Iter Italicum, contains descriptions of Renaissance manuscripts in libraries and archives worldwide. Subject areas include: Classics, Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Arabic and Islamic Studies, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Crusades, Hagiography, Onomastics, Numismatics, Historiagraphy, Epigraphy, Medieval Manuscripts, Charters, Documents.
Use to find journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
The Medieval Feminist Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Librarians and scholars began compiling the index (MFI) in July 1996. Books written by a single author are not included. To locate these, search The CAT.
**Does not cover historical topics, before 1450, but would index articles on the impact of the Crusades in later time periods**
Search for articles and other publications on world history from 1450 to present, (except for the United States and Canada which are indexed in the companion work, America: History and Life). The database includes articles in journals worldwide, including a selection of major social science and humanities journals. Also included are references to dissertations and books.
Find scholarly articles, essays, and other writings about religion.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 488,000 article citations from more than 1,500 journals (506 currently indexed), more than 215,000 essay citations from over 15,700 multi-author works, and more than 446,000 book review citations. This database begins in 1949 although indexing for some journal titles extends back into the nineteenth century. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Find writings about the depiction of the Crusades in European and American art.
Indexing for articles and some other publications on European and American art and architecture from late antiquity to the present. Coverage includes publications between 1975 and 2007. This indexing is not covered in LionSearch. For similar data after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
Find publications covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.
Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims and contains indexing for 3,470 titles with coverage dating back to 1906. Index Islamicus is produced by Brill Academic Publishers.
Use to find articles about the music and the Crusades.
RILM Abstracts indexes and abstracts current literature about music, including periodical articles, Festschriften articles, books, reviews, and dissertations. Scope is international, but all abstracts are in English." Coverage: 1969-present.
Full-text of scholarly journals, including many key history journals.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.
Full-text archive of scholarly journals many fields, including dozens of core history journals.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.