Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Information

a guide to finding U.S. federal, Pennsylvania state, and foreign/international government information.

Description

Documents in the News aims to highlight the use of government information in the news and media.  It is not an attempt to be comprehensive, but a place to foster discovery and access to government information and to highlight how that information may be helpful in the research process.

Current News

 January 12, 2021. “Section 230 of the Communications Decency Act.” U.S. News: Congress Gets Fuel to Rein In Big Tech Firms --- After social media sparked Capitol attack, stripping back liability shield is on the table. Ryan Tracy and John D. McKinnon. The Wall Street Journal. Database: Factiva (Dow Jones). United States Congress

January 12, 2021. “Statement from the President.” Sheldon Adelson Dies at 87; a Giant in the Casino-Resort Industry; One of the world's richest men, he was a big donor to the Republican Party. James R. Hagerty and Alexandra Berzon. The Wall Street Journal. Database: ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies. Presidential Briefings & Statements. 

January 12, 2021. “H. Res. 26 (IH) - Impeaching Donald John Trump, President of the United States, for high crimes and misdemeanors.House finalizing impeachment push. Seung Min Kim, Annie Linskey, and Josh Dawsey. The Washington Post. Database: ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies. United States House of Representatives.  

January 3-9

January 7, 2021. “Wednesday, January 6, 2021 Proceedings of the Joint Session of Congress.” Congress nears confirmation after chaos. Rosalind S. Helderman, Karoun Demirjian, Seung Min Kim, and Josh Dawsey. The Washington Post. Database: ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies. United States Congress.

January 7, 2021. “Twenty-fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution.” Enraged at Pence, Trump Exhorted Crowd to 'Fight'. Maggie Haberman. The New York Times. Database: ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies. United States Constitution.

January 7, 2021. “Twenty-fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution.” Chaos in the Capitol: Trump Sympathizes With Rioters. Alex Leary. The Wall Street Journal. Database: ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies. United States Constitution.

January 6, 2021. “Executive Order Addressing the Threat Posed By Applications and Other Software Developed or Controlled By Chinese Companies.” World News: Trump Order Hits Payment Apps. Andrew Restuccia and John D. McKinnon. The Wall Street Journal. Database: ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies. Presidential Actions.

January 5, 2021. “Constitution of the United States.” Peaceful activists or 'Antifa scumbags' at senator's home? Teo Armus. The Washington Post. Database: ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies. United States Constitution

January 5, 2021. “Second Amendment to the United States Constitution.“ In ad, new congresswoman says she'll carry firearm on Hill, around city. Meagan Flynn. The Washington Post. Database: ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies. United States Constitution

January 5, 2021. “Twelfth Amendment of the United States Constitution.” A disputed electoral vote count and the 1887 act that ties Pence's hands. Ronald G. Shafer. The Washington Post. Database: ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies. United States Constitution

January 5, 2021. “H.Res.8 - Adopting the Rules of the House of Representatives of the One Hundred Seventeenth Congress, and for other purposes.House Passes Rules Package for New Session of Congress; Democrats' rules also restart remote voting, ease budgetary restrictions for climate-related proposals. Natalie Andrews. The Wall Street Journal. Database: ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies. United States Congress.  

January 4, 2021. “1887 Electoral Count Act (3 U.S. Code § 15).” All Pence Can Do Is Count; The Constitution is clear. Neither the vice president nor Congress has the power to reject electoral votes. Alan Charles Raul and Richard Bernstein. The Wall Street Journal. Database: ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies. United States Congress

January 4, 2021. “President Donald J. Trump to Award the Medal of Freedom to Devin Nunes.” Trump Awards Medal of Freedom to Devin Nunes; President also plans to bestow nation's top civilian honor on Jim Jordan, another close Republican ally. Catherine Lucey. The Wall Street Journal. Database: ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies. Presidential Briefings & Statements.  

January 3, 2021. “21-40001 - Gohmert v. Pence.” Gohmert court filing claims Pence is more than 'glorified envelope-opener'. The Washington Post. Database: ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies. United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.