Library Guides: Sustainable (Green) Engineering: Finding Articles and Databases

Top Picks

A list of databases to help you with your research in Sustainable Engineering. For additional information on how to search each database and use their unique search features be sure to look at the databases help, tools, search tips, and tutorials pages located on the front page of each database. These pages and videos will walk you through the different methods and terms used for basic searches, advanced searches, etc. in each database.

Compendex (Ei Village 2) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary engineering journal articles and conference papers from 1884-Present.
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment.
GreenFILE is a database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE will serve as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.
NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new window
Technical reports covering US government research, and worldwide scientific, technical, and engineering related information.
NTRL is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest US government sponsored research, and worldwide scientific, technical, and engineering information.
OSTI.GOV This link opens in a new window
Full-text of Department of Energy (DOE) funded science, technology, and engineering research results.
OSTI.GOV has replaced SciTech Connect as the primary search tool for Department of Energy (DOE) funded science, technology, and engineering research results. It provides access to all the information previously available in SciTech Connect, DOE Information Bridge, and Energy Citations Database.
Environmental Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of pollution, environmental engineering, and waste management.
The Environmental Sciences Collection provides abstracts and references to the environment literature covering all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution as well as bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources from 1967 to the present.
ProQuest (Multiple Databases) This link opens in a new window
5,000+ magazines, journals, and newspapers covering all subjects.
Searches multiple ProQuest products, indexing 5,000+ magazines, journals, and newspapers. Keywords: news, New York Times, current events, contemporary issues, hot topics, English 15, CAS 100.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Use to find citations to relevant articles in all areas of science and engineering.
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.

Penn State University Libraries

Sustainable (Green) Engineering

Tutorials and How-to Guides

Top Picks

Do We have that eJournal?