Home - articles and databases - Environmental Science and Resource Management

Top Picks

These databases are the best bets for finding articles in the Environmental Sciences

LionSearch This link opens in a new window
an integrated search of books, e-books, research articles, newspaper articles, and other publications.
Environmental Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on the scientific aspects of pollution, microbiology, ecology, other environmental topics.
The Environmental Sciences Collection provides abstracts and references to the environment literature covering all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution as well as bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources from 1967 to the present.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on all aspects of human impact to the environment.
GreenFILE is a database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE will serve as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.

Also Important

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
(cited references) can be searched as a multidisciplinary database or you can search for new articles which cite an older article by using the cited ref search function.
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
covers all aspects of biology, with emphasis on molecular biology, genetics and microbiology.
Get a comprehensive view of life sciences research, including the most important discoveries, significant influences and relevant connections. The new BIOSIS Citation Index combines the unique BIOSIS content that is critical to life sciences research with powerful citation indexing only the Web of Science™ can provide. You can rely on comprehensive and relevant life sciences coverage that eliminates excess and delivers data that is accurate, meaningful and timely.
CAB Abstracts (agriculture, nutrition and global health) This link opens in a new window
is an international agriculture database that includes forestry, nutrition, world health and more.
CAB Abstracts via CAB Direct covers all areas of agriculture including animal production and welfare (equine, dairy, cattle, poultry), horticulture, (fruits, nuts, vegetables ornamentals, flowers) crop science (grains, forages) and plant protection, applied economics and rural studies, animal nutrition, entomology, aquaculture and veterinary science, food science and nutrition, forestry and the management and conservation of natural resources, leisure and tourism, microbiology, parasitology, mycology, nematology, bacteriology and virology, biotechnology, and plant pathology and postharvest factors. CAB Direct also includes a Global Health section which covers international and public health, including bacterial, viral and prion diseases, mycology, parasitology, disease vectors, zoonotic diseases, nutrition and food safety, medicinal plants, toxicology and public and rural health.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
covers ethology, wildlife management, reproductive biology and other aspects of zoology.
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide is the world's largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered, with a global perspective. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more. Coverage is 1935 to present.
Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
includes dissertations from most U.S. institutions.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world, with more than 2.5 million available in full text PDF.

Do we have that ejournal?

Article Search Tips

Finding the best articles on your topic requires these steps.

Select an appropriate database.
Enter and combine terms appropriate to your topic
Scan the best items on the results list and look for new subject terms or keywords. Then revise your search using these new terms.
Save the journal title, volume, date, and page numbers. This is all part of the "citation".
Explore other databases and subject terms (which vary between databases) for more information.

Get the Full Text

Once you find the citation, try the button to see if Penn State has the electronic version of the article you need. If the electronic version is available, you should get right to it. If the article is not available electronically, use the Request via InterLibrary Loan (ILL) button to request it from another library. ILL will get a copy of the article for you, typically at no cost; articles usually arrive within a week, often in as few as 2-3 days. Watch your PSU email for notification and further instructions. You can also click on the Search the library catalog for this item (by title) link to automatically search our catalog and see if Penn State has a print copy.

Penn State University Libraries

Environmental Science and Resource Management

Agricultural Sciences Librarian

Top Picks

Also Important

Do we have that ejournal?

Article Search Tips

Get the Full Text