An online encyclopedia. Start with a briefing! Major architects and styles, etc.
Oxford Art Online combines several key encyclopedias and dictionaries important for the history of art and architecture. Together these provide the largest and most authoritative list of biographies of artists in English, as well as an excellent collection of scholarly encyclopedia articles on important topics in the visual arts. Included are Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and others.
images of historic architecture and landscape design provided exclusively for Penn State users
Tens of thousands of color images of historic and contemporary architecture. Images are selected and sized to support teaching. Multiple shots of each building or landscape are normally provided. These pictures have been gathered for Penn State users from a variety of sources: professional color photography that has been licensed for Penn State use, original color photography provided by university faculty, and some copies from books and similar sources.
images of art, architecture and artifacts of all cultures and eras
The ARTstor Digital Library is an image database featuring works of art and other cultural heritage from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. The library of 2 million images is constantly growing. All images are accompanied by extensive metadata and are rights-cleared for specified educational uses.
The Cities and Buildings Database is a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web and is maintained by the University of Washington Libraries.
The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections are among the largest and most heavily used in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress. Since 2000, documentation from the Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) has been added to the holdings. The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes, including examples as diverse as the Pueblo of Acoma, houses, windmills, one-room schools, the Golden Gate Bridge, and buildings designed by Frank Lloyd Wright. Administered since 1933 through cooperative agreements with the National Park Service, the Library of Congress, and the private sector, ongoing programs of the National Park Service have recorded America's built environment in multiformat surveys comprising more than 556,900 measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for more than 38,600 historic structures and sites dating from Pre-Columbian times to the twentieth century. This online presentation of the HABS/HAER/HALS collections includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, written history pages, and supplemental materials. Since the National Park Service's HABS, HAER and HALS programs create new documentation each year, documentation will continue to be added to the online collections. The first phase of digitization of the Historic American Engineering Record collection was made possible by the generous support of the Shell Oil Company Foundation
The Gottscho-Schleisner Collection is comprised of over 29,000 images primarily of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures. Subjects are concentrated chiefly in the northeastern United States, especially the New York City area, and Florida. Included are the homes of notable Americans, such as Raymond Loewy, and of several U.S. presidents, as well as color images of the 1939-40 New York World's Fair. Many of the photographs were commissioned by architects, designers, owners and architectural publications, and document important achievements in American 20th-century architecture and interior design.
articles related to architecture, landscape architecture and urban planning
Contains descriptions of articles on the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, furniture, and interior design and decoration in more than 700 international magazines. Most indexing began with 1934, but some titles are indexed to dates as early as 1741. Updated weekly.
In addition to listing the books and other collections of one of the largest architectural libraries in the world, the Library of the Royal Institute of British Architects, this catalogue contains hundreds of thousands of records describing each feature article in more than 300 important architectural periodicals. “Architecture” here means history and current practice, as well as landscape architecture, interior design, urban design, and a significant amount of related engineering (civil, structural, construction, etc.) Since this is another library’s catalog, the location information on each record is not relevant – each item will need to checked in LionSearch or The CAT to determine if it is immediately available.
articles related to all eras & cultures of art & architecture including some journals not covered by LionSearch
Indexes hundreds of international art magazines, including English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as some published in other languages. Indexing is available for publications 1929+; abstracting for 1994+, and Full Text is often available for 1997+ but keyword searches do not explore the full texts – only the titles, subject headings, & etc.. Not covered by LionSearch.
articles, product listings, case studies, etc. related to all aspects of green design
BuildingGreen Suite integrates online versions of GreenSpec product listings, high-quality articles about green buildings, peer-to-peer comments, project case studies, and full text access to Environmental Building News from 2004 to date. This information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources. Creating a free personal account will allow you to comment on articles and participate in discussion threads.
articles related to computer aided architectural design
CumInCAD is a cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design. It provides abstracts to thousands of papers in journals and conferences including the full text and illustrations for more than half of the papers. When asked to logon, create your own free account with ID and password. Creating your own account provides access to the full text content and other features.
structural details and graphics for recent buildings
This is an excellent source for descriptive informationand graphics for recently designed buildings – especially when structuraldetails are needed. The database contains the majority of the featurearticles from DETAIL magazine as well as DETAIL: Green, DETAIL: Inside, andDETAIL: Structure. Although the contents are usually contributed by abuilding’s designers (much like most of the recent web magazines) DETAILimposes standards which include uniform and informative graphics – browsingthese shows much about a building’s components and how they are puttogether. Articles back to 1987 are included. DETAIL: Inspiration is notcovered in LionSearch nor via the GetIt button. Searching this database, orthe paper copies, is the only route.
product information for for new and/or unique building materials
This database serves as a resource for designers in their search for new and/or unique materials. Material ConneXion currently holds 2,000+ material samples of architectural, landscape architectural, interior and industrial design products. Material samples include an index of manufacturer, material composition, environmental/sustainability, and descriptive information.