Library Guides: Engineering Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU): Finding Engineering Resources

University Libraries Webpages

Libraries Homepage
The gateway to the wide range of resources that are available to the Penn State community. These include The CAT, the catalog of the materials accessed through the University Libraries, databases in a number of subjects, full text journal collections, and some full text reference materials.
Databases By Title (A-Z)
The list of databases and their descriptions. Click on database information icon for subjects covered in the database.
Subject Guides
These guides provide information on databases, web sites, books, and other sources by specific subject and if you are having trouble locating a database can help you decided
Interlibrary Loan
Gives you options to borrow materials that the University Libraries does not own.
My Library Account
Allows you to renew your books without bringing them back to the library and lets you check what books you have out, when they are due, what is on hold, fines, etc.

Technical Reports
Guide on locating and using technical reports in all fields of engineering
Standards Research Guide
Guide on locating and using engineering standards
Patents
Guide on locating and using patents
Trademarks
Guide on locating and using trademarks
Conference Proceedings
Guide on locating conference proceedings

Finding the best articles on your topic requires these steps.

Select an appropriate database.
Enter and combine terms appropriate to your topic
Scan the best items on the results list and look for new subject terms or keywords. Then revise your search using these new terms.
Save the journal title, volume, date, and page numbers. This is all part of the "citation".
Explore other databases and subject terms (which vary between databases) for more information.

Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new window
the list of what is owned by Penn State Libraries.
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.

Use the Keyword function and combine terms to search on a topic then use the subject headings from relevant books for additional search terms.
Write down the call number and location for any book you want. If the item is not at your campus use the "I Want It" button to request it.
For electronic books, click the link under the words "online content" to access the full text

You can also find books via

LionSearch This link opens in a new window
Select Book / eBook under the Content Type limits on the left.