Documents the American military and civilian involvement through personal letters, diaries, photographs, artifacts and military records. Includes memories of military life, prisoner of war camps and the Home Front in oral history video interviews recorded by The National WWII Museum.

"A varied array of records of traders, travellers, missionaries and diplomats, from the mid-seventeenth century to the late twentieth century, offering Western perspectives on all aspects of Chinese culture and society."

This cross-searchable platform provides access to a vast range of primary sources relating to China's history, literature and culture. Spanning three centuries, the resources include rare printed books, pamphlets, manuscripts, diaries, newspapers and periodicals. These are supported by a range of incredible art works, illustrations and photographs. Modules in China Studies are: China, America and the Pacific; China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980; China: Culture and Society.

DNSA is a full-text, online resource providing coverage of more than 150,000 curated primary source documents culled from the collections of the National Security Archive. There are 64 complete collections such as the Cuban Missile Crisis, death squads in Guatemala, US relations with Iran and Iraq, Afghanistan, and terrorism policy.

The six parts of this collection make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980: 1919-1929: Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International; 1930-1937: The Long March, Civil War in China and the Manchurian Crisis ; 1938-1948: Open Door, Japanese War and the Seeds of Communist Victory ; 1949−56:The Communist Revolution ; 1957−1966: The Great Leap Forward ; 1967−1980: The Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution. Due to the unique nature of the relationship between Britain and China, these formerly restricted British government documents, consisting of diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials, provide unprecedented levels of detail into one of the most turbulent periods of Chinese history.

Primary source documents including records from civil rights activists and organizations (Southern Christian Leadership Council, NAACP, Revolutionary Action Movement). Other collections include; Law and Society Since the Civil War; Slavery and the Law (petitions to southern legislatures and courts and slavery statutes); Southern Life and African-American History, 1775-1915 (diaries, account books and other records of daily life); The Struggle for Women's Rights, 1880-1990 (records of the National Woman's Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance); Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from The Schlesinger Library; The Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975, and Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, 1880-1930.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online* provides full-text, fully searchable content from a wide range of primary sources. Archives include works in Western as well as non-Western languages and are sourced from rare collections at libraries and other institutions from around the globe. Currently, collections include *British Politics and Society*, *European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection*, *Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange*, and *British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture*, with more collections to come.

Reproduces the six principal Military Intelligence Division files relating to China for the period 1918 to 1941 (general conditions, political conditions, economic conditions, army, navy, and aeronautics). These reports were filed weekly or monthly detailing conditions in China. Three of the six files document current political, economic, and social events, while the other three focus on the Chinese military.

Readex's Early American Newspapers (1690-1922) is a unique, web-based archive of Americana that provides a fascinating glimpse into our nation's past. The Early American Newspaper Collection will feature the images and full-text content from scores of historical publications.

Over a thousand hours of archival and documentary films of historical interest. Includes selected content from the History Channel, PBS, the U.S. Government and other educational media sources. Also includes the entire series of newsreels from Universal. Transcripts are fully searchable and synchronized to the video. Video clips can be selected to create customized playlists that can be annotated, copied, and shared.

"A large collection of newsreels produced by the Topical Film Company and provides a glimpse into the early twentieth century - from everyday interests, such as sport and fashion, to coverage of key events, such as the First World War, the Suffragette Movement, and the establishment of the Irish Free State."

12 English-language periodicals produced in China. Longer-running publications include the North China Herald (1850-1941), Chinese Repository (1832-1851), Chinese Recorder(1868-1941) and the China Weekly Review (1923-1950). There are also shorter runs of; Canton Times (1919-1920), China Critic (1939-1946), China Monthly Review (1950-1953),China Press (1925-1938), Millard's China National Review (1919-1919), Millard's Review of the Far East (1919-1921), Peking Daily News (1914-1917), Peking Gazette (1915-1917), Peking Leader (1918-1919), Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921), Shanghai Times (1914-1921), and Weekly Review (1922-1923). In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and ads.

The Missionary Recorder (later the Chinese Recorder and Missionary Journal) was created to inform Protestant missionaries in China. Distrbuted abroad, the Chinese Recorder provides English language accounts of secular events in China, including the crusade against opium, the Boxer Rebellion, the 1911 Revolution, and the Sino-Japanese war. Religious topics such as the founding of missionaries and the growth of the Chinese church are well documented.

Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world are the sources of this information. Full text is currently available for selected areas only. For access to all FBIS reports use the A-Z link for the FBIS Index. All reports are available on microfiche in the Social Sciences Library, 2nd floor Paterno.

The Gale NewsVault allows researchers to cross-search historical newspaper collections, including the Times Digital Archive, the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century US Newspapers, and many more. Providing access to over 10 million digitized facsimile pages, Gale NewsVault allows the most effective searching across many newspapers.

"ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning the 20th century covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought."

NewspaperARCHIVE is a database of newspaper page images from Pennsylvania. Searches are automatically limited to the content Penn State has access to. NewspaperARCHIVE is particularly good for accessing historical newspapers from smaller and medium-sized cities and towns across the Commonwealth (e.g., Altoona, Dubois, Gettysburg). The text is fully searchable, but there are gaps in coverage for many titles.

This digital resource reveals the story of war as told by the newspapers that brought information, entertainment and camaraderie to the forces at home and overseas. Explore over 200 titles from key nations across the globe that took part in the world-changing conflict.

"Founded in 1903 by Alfred Cunningham and Tse Tsan-tai, a key figure in the Chinese revolt against the last imperial Qing Dynasty at the turn of the 20th century, the newspaper became a platform for advocating the reform movement in China. It is highly regarded by researchers because of the unique history of Hong Kong as well as the newspaper’s editorial perspective on Imperial Japan and Communist China."