LionSearch and Example Titles
- LionSearch This link opens in a new windowan integrated search of books, e-books, research articles, newspaper articles, and other publications.
The Mongol World by
Drawing upon research carried out in several different languages and across a variety of disciplines, The Mongol World documents how Mongol rule shaped the trajectory of Eurasian history from Central Europe to the Korean Peninsula, from the thirteenth century to the fifteenth century. Contributing authors consider how intercontinental environmental, economic, and intellectual trends affected the Empire as a whole and, where appropriate, situate regional political, social, and religious shifts within the context of the broader Mongol Empire. Issues pertaining to the Mongols and their role within the societies that they conquered therefore take precedence over the historical narrative of the societies that they conquered. Alongside the formation, conquests, administration, and political structure of the Mongol Empire, the second section examines archaeology and art history, family and royal households, science and exploration, and religion, which provides greater insight into the social history of the Empire -- an aspect often neglected by traditional dynastic and political histories. With 58 chapters written by both senior and early-career scholars, the volume is an essential resource for all students and scholars who study the Mongol Empire from its origins to its disintegration and legacy.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781315165172Publication Date: 2022-05-25
The Routledge Handbook of the Mongols and Central-Eastern Europe by
The Routledge Handbook of the Mongols and Central-Eastern Europe offers a comprehensive overview of the Mongols' military, political, socio-economic and cultural relations with Central and Eastern European nations between the thirteenth and fifteenth centuries. The Mongol Empire was the largest contiguous land empire in history, and one which contributed to the establishment of political, commercial and cultural contacts between all Eurasian regions. The Golden Horde, founded in Eastern Europe by Chinggis Khan's grandson, Batu, in the thirteenth century, was the dominant power in the region. For two hundred years, all of the countries and peoples of Central and Eastern Europe had to reckon with a powerful centralized state with enormous military potential. Some chose to submit to the Mongols whilst others defended their independence, but none could avoid the influence of this powerful empire. In this book, twenty-five chapters examine this crucial period in Central-Eastern European history, including trade, confrontation, and cultural and religious exchange between the Mongols and their neighbours. This book will be an essential reference for scholars and students of the Mongols, as well those interested in the political, social and economic history of medieval Central-Eastern Europe.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781000417456Publication Date: 2021-08-25
Making Mongol History by
This book examines the life and work of Rashid al-Din Tabib (d. 1318), the most powerful statesman working for the Mongol Ilkhans in the Middle East. It begins with an overview of administrative history and historiography in the early Ilkhanate, culminating with Rashid al-Din's Blessed History of Ghazan, the indispensable source for Mongol and Ilkhanid history. Later chapters lay out the results of the most comprehensive study to date of the manuscripts of Rashid al-Din's historical writing. The complicated relationship between Rashid al-Din's historical and theological writings is also explored, as well as his appropriation of the work of his contemporary historian, `Abd Allah Qashani.
Call Number: DS289.K36 2019 Pattee LibraryISBN: 9781474421423Publication Date: 2019-09-01
Women and the Making of the Mongol Empire by
How did women contribute to the rise of the Mongol Empire while Mongol men were conquering Eurasia? This book positions women in their rightful place in the otherwise well-known story of Chinggis Khan (commonly known as Genghis Khan) and his conquests and empire. Examining the best known women of Mongol society, such as Chinggis Khan's mother, Hö'elün, and senior wife, Börte, as well as those who were less famous but equally influential, including his daughters and his conquered wives, we see the systematic and essential participation of women in empire, politics and war. Anne F. Broadbridge also proposes a new vision of Chinggis Khan's well-known atomized army by situating his daughters and their husbands at the heart of his army reforms, looks at women's key roles in Mongol politics and succession, and charts the ways the descendants of Chinggis Khan's daughters dominated the Khanates that emerged after the breakup of the Empire in the 1260s.
Call Number: DS22.B76 2018 Pattee LibraryISBN: 9781108424899Publication Date: 2018-07-18
Databases
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles and other publications on world history from 1450 to present,
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowIndex Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window"...contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide."
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of important scholarly journals and books, covering many disciplines but primarily in the humanities & social sciences. Note: The full text of articles is not searched in LionSearch, so use JSTOR itself to obtain its full text articles.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowLibraries and publishers in collaboration providing 100% full text articles in the humanities, art, & social sciences by way of Project Muse.
Primary Sources
- The book of Ser Marco Polo, the Venetian : concerning the kingdoms and marvels of the EastFree eBook edition of Marco Polo's travels.
- The Art of the Ilkhanid Period (1256–1353)The Ilkhanids (1256-1335 CE) were a Mongol dynasty that ruled over present-day Iran, most of Iraq, Afghanistan, Turkmenistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Turkey, and western Pakistan.
Other Useful Resources
- The Mongols in World HistoryPrepared by faculty at Columbia University, this resource explores the history of the Mongols between 1000 - 1500 CE.
Related Guides
- Asian Studies Resources at Penn State University LibrariesResource Guide for Asian Studies at PSU.
- History Subject GuideExplore history journals and primary sources.