Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fayette Student Guide

Everything you need to know about the Library and how to use it.

About Us

The Coal and Coke Heritage Center (CCHC) is a museum and archive preserving the heritage of Fayette County's mining community. Our collection grew from the Patch Work Voices oral history project led by three faculty members at Penn State Fayette starting in the 1970's. The museum guides you through immigration, coal mining, the coking process, and living life in mining towns. 

You can visit the CCHC by appointment only Monday through Friday 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Please call 724-430-4160 or email aks5994@psu.edu to make an appointment. We are located in the lower level of the Fayette Campus Library.

Visit the CCHC's website

Archives

The CCHC archive holds several collections that include maps, photographs, company records, correspondence, research, and oral histories. Collection descriptions and finding aids can be found below. Need a source for a research project, paper, or just generally interested in the area's history or genealogy, contact us for help!

To access the collections, please contact Amanda Peters at 724-430-4160 or acp47@psu.edu.

Our Collections

Opportunity—Exhibit Case Reservations

We welcome use of the exhibit case on the upper level of the Library. If you have an interest in creating an exhibit and displaying it in the Library, please fill out the Google form below to reserve the case. The exhibit case is available for students, staff, and faculty. We welcome ideas and collaboration with the Library and the Coal and Coke Heritage Center.

Exhibit Case

The exhibit case is currently reserved for the following:

  • February 2021 - Multicultural Student Association
  • April 6-June 31, 2021 - West Overton Museum Collaboration